FR

Our donors and main partners in 2019

Our donors

CFI is mainly funded by the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, as part of French Official Development Assistance. The agency has developed an active policy of external fund-raising at European and international level: the European Union (EU), the French Development Agency (AFD), the German cooperation agency (GIZ) and Expertise France (EF) are some of its regular donors.

Several projects run by the agency in 2019 were funded by the European Union. Examples of this include the D-Jil project, which supports the media to innovate and create online content for young people in the Arab world, and EU-JDID, which provides European support for the development of democracy and institutions in Jordan.

A further project funded by the European Union, EcoMedia, has improved, through the media, the quality of public debate and increased citizen control with regard to good economic governance in Burkina Faso.

For its part, the AFD funds two CFI projects in particular: MediaSahel, which aims to increase the involvement of young people in the Sahel region through the media and PAGOF (Project in Support of Open Governments in French-speaking Africa), run in partnership with Expertise France, which supports administrations, the media and African citizens in opening up public data and using it to benefit citizens.

Several projects were also run in 2019 with the German cooperation agency GIZ: InfoRights, which increases media coverage of human rights in Mauritania and Benin Citizens’ Dialogue, which improves the quality of exchanges on questions of accountability and citizen control of public action, thanks to an increase in the quality of the output from the media.

Lastly, some projects run by the agency in 2019 were funded by the French public body Expertise France. These projects include Qudra, which aims to improve access to information for Syrian refugees in Jordan, Turkey and Lebanon, and Pravo-Justice, which seeks to use the media to promote a greater understanding of justice reforms in Ukraine.

Our main partners

In 2019, 60% of the agency’s projects were run in partnerships with the editorial offices or departments of France Médias Monde (RFI, France 24 and Monte Carlo Doualiya), specifically through projects aimed at young people.

For example, the 18 medias outlets that received support as part of the D-Jil project were the subject of a presentation broadcast on Monte Carlo Doualiya, in the weekly magazine “Digital”, which is also accessible as a podcast on the radio station’s website.

International radio station RFI also broadcast two programmes from the Media and Development Forum, which brought 120 media outlets from 25 countries in Africa, the Arab world and South-East Asia together in Paris in December.

In 2019, CFI also completed the seventh round of the SafirLab project, run in partnership with the Institut français, which provided support over several months to around 20 young people from the Arab world leading innovative projects in the areas of civil society and the media.

The agency also continued to support African creations and had a hand in the emergence of new talent, through the writing and production of several series, in partnership with Lagardère and Canal+ Afrique, as part of the Writing and producing in Africa 2 project.

In addition, at European level, CFI regularly cooperates with its counterparts, BBC Media Action, Deutsche Welle, International Media Support (IMS) and Free Press Unlimited (FPU), and is also a member of the Global Forum on Migration and Development (GFMD) and the board of directors of EPD (European Partnership for Democracy), which works to promote democracy throughout the world.

 

Finally, CFI works with many partners in the South which, thanks to their location and their proximity to local situations, help to establish projects for the development of the media.

EN

Nos bailleurs et partenaires en 2019

Nos bailleurs

CFI est majoritairement financé par le ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, dans le cadre de l’aide publique française au développement. L’agence a développé une politique active de recherche de fonds extérieurs au niveau européen et international : l’Union européenne (UE), l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD), la coopération allemande (GIZ) et Expertise France (EF) font partie de ses bailleurs réguliers.

Plusieurs projets menés en 2019 par l’agence sont financés par lUnion européenne. C’est le cas du projet D-Jil, qui accompagne les médias pour innover et créer des contenus en ligne pour les jeunes du monde arabe, ou encore d’EU-JDID, qui apporte un soutien européen au développement de la démocratie et des institutions en Jordanie.

Également financé par l’Union européenne, le projet EcoMédias a amélioré, grâce aux médias, la qualité du débat public et renforcé le contrôle citoyen en matière de bonne gouvernance économique au Burkina Faso.

De son côté, l’AFD finance, notamment, deux projets de CFI : MédiaSahel, qui participe à une meilleure implication de la jeunesse sahélienne par les médias, et le PAGOF (Projet d’Appui aux Gouvernements Ouverts Francophones), mené en partenariat avec Expertise France, qui accompagne les administrations, les médias et les citoyens africains dans l’ouverture des données publiques et leur utilisation à des fins citoyennes.

Plusieurs projets ont été également menés en 2019 avec l’organisme de coopération allemande GIZ : InfosDroits, qui renforce la couverture médiatique sur les droits humains en Mauritanie et Dialogues citoyens Bénin, qui améliore la qualité des échanges autour des questions de redevabilité et de contrôle citoyen de l’action publique, grâce à une augmentation qualitative de l’offre médiatique.

Enfin, certains projets menés en 2019 par l’agence sont financés par l’organisme public français Expertise France. C’est le cas de Qudra, qui vise à améliorer l’accès à l’information des populations de réfugiés syriens résidant en Jordanie, en Turquie et au Liban, ou encore de Pravo Justice, qui permet de mieux faire comprendre les réformes de la justice en Ukraine grâce aux médias.

Nos principaux partenaires

En 2019, 60% des projets de l’agence ont été menés en partenariat avec les rédactions ou les services de France Médias Monde (RFI, France 24 et Monte Carlo Doualiya), notamment à travers des projets destinés à la jeunesse.

Par exemple, les 18 médias soutenus dans le cadre du projet D-Jil ont fait l’objet d’une présentation sur les antennes de Monte Carlo Doualiya, dans le magazine hebdomadaire « Digital », également accessible en podcast sur le site internet de la radio.

La radio du monde RFI a également délocalisé deux émissions lors du forum médias et développement qui a réuni 120 médias de 25 pays d’Afrique, du monde arabe et d’Asie du Sud-Est en décembre à Paris.

CFI a clôturé en 2019 la septième édition du projet SafirLab, mené en partenariat avec l’Institut français, qui a accompagné, durant plusieurs mois, une vingtaine de jeunes du monde arabe porteurs de projets innovants dans le domaine de la société civile et des médias.

L’agence a également poursuivi son appui à la création africaine et participé à l’émergence de nouveaux talents, à travers l’écriture et la production de plusieurs séries, en partenariat avec Lagardère et Canal+ Afrique, dans le cadre du projet Écrire et produire en Afrique 2.

En outre, au niveau européen, CFI coopère de manière régulière avec ses homologues, BBC Media Action, Deutsche Welle, International Media Support (IMS) et Free Press Unlimited (FPU), et est aussi membre du Global Forum on Migrations and Development (GFMD) et du conseil d’administration d’EPD (European Partnership for Democracy), qui œuvre pour la promotion de la démocratie dans le monde.

Enfin, l’agence travaille avec de nombreux partenaires du Sud qui, du fait de leur implantation et de leur proximité avec les réalités locales, contribuent à construire des projets au service du développement des médias.