Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

D-JIL

New digital content for young people in the Arab world

Calendrier : January 2018 – January 2022 / Budget global : €2.5m


The creation of innovative and original digital programmes, reflecting the issues that young people are interested in, is a top priority these days for media outlets in the Arab world. Numerous studies in this region also show that young people want to play a more active role in the media.

The D-Jil project, short for “Digital-Jil” (generation in Arabic), is aimed at providing young people in the Arab world with enhanced access to information and increasing their participation in public debate and their civic engagement. Co-financed by the European Union, this project is run by a consortium of partners composed of the following members: CFI, the Samir Kassir Foundation (Lebanon), IREX Europe (France), FMAS (Morocco) and Leaders of Tomorrow (Jordan).

D-Jil is designed for those developing digital programmes of interest to young people, particularly young women, and those who are seeking support to consolidate their working methods, enrich their content and launch new technical tools.

The project began in January 2018 with the collation of existing studies relating to young people in the Arab world, in order to better meet their needs. A call for applications then led to the pre-selection of 30 projects – from Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Palestine, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt and Libya – out of the 250 that were received.

Hackathons and incubation sessions

In July, the thirty project leaders participated in a “hackathon*”, in Casablanca and Beirut, at the end of which ten successful projects were retained to take part in an incubation session, in order to enhance the skills of the beneficiaries, share their experiences in relation to common problems and promote the establishment of a network dedicated to young people. This session brought together 19 people, including 11 women, in Tunis on 14 and 15 November.

What these ambitious and innovative projects have in common is a desire to do things differently and to open up new perspectives for young people through topics that affect and concern them.

The projects selected in 2018 include: Openchabab, which set up a training platform and programmes in relation to investigative journalism in Morocco; Laha Ma Takoul (She’s got something to say) based in Algiers, which is aimed at producing media content highlighting women’s skills, achievements and visions of change for a better society; and Welad al Balad Stadium, a sports journalism project in Egypt, which focuses on local coverage by young journalists from across the country.

My project: to eliminate stereotypes about women in traditional media in Algeria and increase the presence of women in the media. If I had a magic wand, I would get rid of all the commercial and political media organisations and only keep the ones that work for the citizens!” Samira Dehri, Algerian beneficiary of D-Jil, She’s got something to say project


* Events which allow the project leaders to come together in a challenge/cooperative format in order to develop innovative digital programmes in a limited amount of time, which makes it possible to stimulate the creativity of the project leaders and encourage sharing and synergy.

Photo gallery

  • D-JIL

    First incubator session in Tunis (Tunisia) - November 2018

  • D-JIL

    First incubator session in Tunis (Tunisia) - November 2018

  • D-JIL

    First incubator session in Tunis (Tunisia) - November 2018

  • D-JIL

    First incubator session in Tunis (Tunisia) - November 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

  • D-JIL

    D-Jil “hackathon”: first weekend of competition in Casablanca (Morocco) - July 2018

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

PAGOF

Although the involvement of French-speaking African countries in the Open Government Partnership (OGP) remains limited, the process is attracting increasing interest. Both traditional and online media play a key role in these countries in raising […]

Best Female Talents

In 2018, CFI renewed its support for African fiction, in particular by supporting the continent’s best female talents in the field of writing a television series, by means of the Talents de femmes (Best Female […]

YMER

Yemen is now facing a serious humanitarian crisis: two thirds of the population are in need of aid, half of whom are in a state of extreme emergency. In response to this situation, CFI has […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

D-JIL

De nouveaux contenus numériques pour les jeunes du monde arabe

Calendrier : janvier 2018 – janvier 2022 / Budget global : 2,5 M€


Créer des programmes numériques innovants et originaux, reflétant les enjeux auxquels les jeunes s’intéressent, constitue aujourd’hui une priorité pour les médias du monde arabe. De nombreuses études sur la jeunesse dans cette région montrent également qu’elle souhaite jouer un rôle plus actif dans les médias.

Le projet D-Jil, contraction de « Digital-Jil (génération en arabe), vise à donner un meilleur accès à l’information aux jeunes du monde arabe, à augmenter leur participation au débat public et leur engagement citoyen. Cofinancé par l’Union européenne, ce projet est mis en œuvre par un consortium de partenaires dont les membres sont CFI, la Fondation Samir Kassir (Liban), IREX Europe (France), FMAS (Maroc) et Leaders of Tomorrow (Jordanie).

D-Jil s’adresse aux acteurs développant des programmes numériques qui intéressent les jeunes, notamment les femmes, et qui souhaitent bénéficier d’un accompagnement pour renforcer leur activité, enrichir leurs contenus et lancer de nouveaux outils techniques.

Le projet a débuté en janvier 2018 par la collecte d’études existantes sur la jeunesse dans le monde arabe, afin de mieux cerner ses besoins. Puis, un appel à candidatures a conduit à la pré-sélection de 30 projets – d’Algérie, du Maroc, de Tunisie, de Palestine, de Syrie, de Jordanie, du Liban, d’Egypte et de Libye –, sur 250 reçus.

Hackathons et sessions d’incubation

Les trente porteurs de projets ont participé à un « hackathon* », à Casablanca et Beyrouth, en juillet, à l’issue duquel dix projets lauréats ont été retenus pour suivre une session d’incubation, afin de renforcer les compétences des bénéficiaires, d’échanger sur des problématiques communes et de favoriser la constitution d’un réseau dédié à la jeunesse. Cette session a réuni 19 personnes, dont 11 femmes, à Tunis les 14 et 15 novembre.

Ambitieux et innovants, ces projets ont en commun la volonté de faire bouger les lignes et d’engager la jeunesse vers de nouvelles perspectives, à travers des sujets qui les touchent et les concernent.

Parmi les projets sélectionnés en 2018 : Open chabab, qui a mis en place une plateforme et des cycles de formations au journalisme d’investigation au Maroc ; Laha Ma Takoul (elle a son mot à dire) basé à Alger, qui a pour objectif de produire des contenus médiatiques, en mettant en lumière les compétences féminines, leurs réalisations ainsi que leurs visions du changement pour une meilleure société, ou encore Welad al Balad Stadium, un projet de journalisme sportif en Égypte, qui met l’accent sur la couverture locale par des jeunes journalistes de tout le pays.

Mon projet : supprimer les stéréotypes sur les femmes dans les médias traditionnels en Algérie et renforcer leur présence dans les médias. Si j’avais une baguette magique, je supprimerais tous les médias commerciaux et politiques pour ne garder que les médias qui travaillent pour le citoyen ! » Samira Dehri, bénéficiaire algérienne de D-Jil, projet She’s got something to say


* Evénement qui permet de rassembler les porteurs de projet dans un format défi/coopératif afin de développer des programmes numériques innovants en un temps limité, ce qui permet de stimuler la créativité des porteurs de projets et favorise les échanges et la complémentarité.

Galerie photos

  • D-JIL

    Première session d'incubation à Tunis (Tunisie) - Novembre 2018

  • D-JIL

    Première session d'incubation à Tunis (Tunisie) - Novembre 2018

  • D-JIL

    Première session d'incubation à Tunis (Tunisie) - Novembre 2018

  • D-JIL

    Première session d'incubation à Tunis (Tunisie) - Novembre 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

  • D-JIL

    Hackaton D-Jil : premier week end de compétition à Casablanca (Maroc) - Juillet 2018

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

Faso Médias 2

Au lendemain d’élections locales et nationales historiques, les attentes de la société burkinabè à l’égard du nouveau régime sont immenses. Si certaines modalités d’action restent à définir pour les médias et la société civile, une […]

YMER

Le Yémen est aujourd’hui confronté à une grave crise humanitaire : les deux tiers de la population ont besoin d’aide, dont la moitié se trouve dans une urgence absolue. Face à cette situation, CFI s’est […]

Médias 360°

Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques […]