Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

Faso Medias 2

Consolidating the role of the media in the citizen-led control of public initiatives

Calendrier : January 2017 – December 2018 / Budget global : €1.2m


In the wake of historic local and national elections, there are very high expectations of the new regime in Burkinan society. While certain policy directions remain to be defined for media organisations and civil society, a virtuous collaboration between media organisations, elected representatives, CSOs and citizens is key to the success of this democratic transition.

Against this backdrop of a democratic renewal, CFI and its partner UNALFA (Union Nationale de l’Audiovisuel Libre du Faso, National Union of Free Audiovisual Media of Burkina Faso) have launched Harmonies Citoyennes (Citizen Harmonies), a pilot component of the FasoMédias 2 (Faso Media 2) project. This component places citizens – in particular young people – and local stakeholders (media organisations, CSOs, elected representatives) at the heart of its actions relating to awareness, education with regard to citizenship and citizen-led control of public initiatives.

In 2018, the journalists trained the previous year recorded three radio programmes intended for the general public in the towns of Bobo-Dioulasso and Fada N’Gourma, with the mayor of the municipality taking part in each case. Thirty local elected officials and thirty civil society organisations (CSOs) from these two towns have also received awareness training in citizen-led control of public action and been trained in communication techniques, for example by means of practical modules such as “How to communicate better with your voters” intended for local elected officials or on “Using social media for CSO communication”.

Public speaking competition

Still in Bobo-Dioulasso and Fada N’Gourma, media organisations held a public speaking competition for young people, providing a forum of expression for Burkinan citizens keen to express their expectations and demands somewhere other than in the street. A hundred young people from Bobo and Fada aged between 16 and 30 years old, selected from more than 200 candidates, took part in six days of training in public speaking and debate.

They learned the best way to defend their ideas through their words, so as to be able to participate in public debates to a greater extent. Coaching sessions led by the Toastmasters association rounded off these training courses and prepared these young people for the challenges of the citizen public speaking competition: prepared speech, improvisation and idea debate.

In Bobo-Dioulasso and Fada N’Gourma, the activities of Faso Media 2 left room for local initiatives, originating from the various stakeholders mobilised throughout the project. The mayor of Bobo-Dioulasso also wishes to continue to hold consultation programmes with the general public and has already sought the assistance of the local media in organising them. The two areas are also seeking funding to organise the subsequent editions of Citizen Harmonies.

In a democracy, there needs to be constant dialogue, and the use of violence is a collective failure that is likely to undermine the rule of law. The presence of media and civil society organisations is a safeguard against abuses and dangers of all kinds. While fear of the police serves to build citizenship, the existence of a free media and of civil society organisations provides local elected officials with certainty that their actions will be scrutinised and checked.” 
Albert Ouedraogo, professor of oral literature at the University of Ouagadougou and Faso Media 2 speaker

 


Faso Media 2: Artist and Citizenship:

Regional final in Bobo of the Citizen Harmonies component of Faso Media 2:

 

Photo gallery

  • Faso Medias 2

    Public speaking competition – June 2018

  • Faso Medias 2

    Public speaking competition – June 2018

  • Faso Medias 2

    Training in how to involve the media - Bobo-Dioulasso - April 2018

  • Faso Medias 2

    Training workshop for elected officials and CSOs in Bobo-Dioulasso - April 2018

  • Faso Medias 2

    48 Hours of Citizenship in Bobo-Dioulasso - November 2018

  • Faso Medias 2

    30 local elected officials and 30 civil society organisations (CSOs) from Fada

  • Faso Medias 2

    Harmonies citoyennes Training - October 2018

  • Faso Medias 2

    TV training – Januray 2018

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

EcoMedias

Since the protests in Burkina Faso in 2014, the citizens aspire to greater transparency from their leaders. However, the forms of action for participating in public life are still obscure and the media, in turn, […]

Media 360°

Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in […]

Qudra

For almost three years, CFI has been managing the media component of the European Qudra programme – led by the GIZ, in partnership with Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

Faso Médias 2

Renforcer le rôle des médias dans le contrôle citoyen de l’action publique

Calendrier : janvier 2017 – décembre 2018 / Budget global : 1,2 M€


Au lendemain d’élections locales et nationales historiques, les attentes de la société burkinabè à l’égard du nouveau régime sont immenses. Si certaines modalités d’action restent à définir pour les médias et la société civile, une collaboration vertueuse entre les médias, les élus, les OSC et les citoyens est une clé pour la réussite de cette transition démocratique.

C’est dans ce contexte de renouveau démocratique que CFI et son partenaire l’UNALFA (Union Nationale de l’Audiovisuel Libre du Faso) ont lancé Harmonies Citoyennes, volet pilote du projet Faso Médias 2. Ce volet place au cœur de son action de sensibilisation, d’éducation à la citoyenneté et de contrôle citoyen de l’action publique, les citoyens – notamment les jeunes – et les acteurs locaux (médias, OSC, élus).

En 2018, les journalistes formés l’année précédente ont enregistré trois émissions de radio destinées au grand public dans les localités de Bobo-Dioulasso et Fada N’Gourma avec, pour chacune, la participation du maire de la commune. Trente élus locaux et trente organisations de la société civile (OSC) de ces deux villes ont également été sensibilisés au contrôle citoyen de l’action publique et formés aux techniques de communication, par le biais de modules pratiques tels que « comment mieux communiquer avec ses administrés ? », destinés aux élus locaux ou encore sur l’« usage des réseaux sociaux pour la communication des OSC ».

Concours d’art oratoire

Dans ces mêmes localités, les médias ont organisé un concours d’art oratoire destiné aux jeunes, offrant un espace de parole citoyen aux Burkinabè souhaitant exprimer leurs attentes et revendications ailleurs que dans la rue. Cent jeunes de Bobo et Fada âgés de 16 à 30 ans, sélectionnés parmi plus de 200 candidats, ont participé à six jours de formation à la prise de parole en public et à l’art oratoire citoyen.

Ils ont appris à mieux défendre leurs idées, par la parole, afin d’être en mesure de participer davantage au débat public. Des coachings animés par l’association Toast Master ont complété ces formations et préparé ces jeunes aux épreuves du concours d’art oratoire citoyen : discours préparé, improvisation et débat d’idée.

A Bobo-Dioulasso et Fada N’Gourma, les activités de Faso Médias 2 ont laissé place à des initiatives locales, émanant des différentes parties prenantes mobilisées pendant tout le projet. Ainsi, le maire de Bobo-Dioulasso souhaite poursuivre la tenue d’émissions de concertation grand public et a déjà sollicité les médias locaux pour leur organisation. Les deux localités sont aussi à la recherche de financements pour organiser les éditions suivantes d’Harmonies Citoyennes.

En démocratie, le dialogue doit être permanent et le recours à la violence est un échec collectif, susceptible de saper l’État de droit. La présence des médias et des organisations de la société civile est un garde-fou contre les dérives et les abus en tous genres. Si la peur du gendarme construit la citoyenneté, l’existence de médias libres et d’organisations de la société civile offre aux élus locaux la certitude que leurs actions seront scrutées et vérifiées. »
Albert Ouedraogo, professeur de littérature orale à l’université de Ouagadougou et intervenant de Faso Médias 2


Faso Médias 2 : Artiste et Citoyenneté :

Finale régionale à Bobo du volet Harmonies Citoyennes de FasoMédias 2 :

 

Galerie photos

  • Faso Médias 2

    Concours d’art oratoire citoyen – Juin 2018

  • Faso Médias 2

    Concours d’art oratoire citoyen – Juin 2018

  • Faso Médias 2

    Comment impliquer les médias formation - Bobo Dioulasso - Avril 2018

  • Faso Médias 2

    Atelier de formation des élus et des osc à Bobo Dioulasso - Avril 2018

  • Faso Médias 2

    48h de citoyenneté à Bobo Dioulasso - Novembre 2018

  • Faso Médias 2

    30 élus locaux et 30 organisations de la société civile de Fada N'Gourma et de Bobo-Dioulasso sensibilisés au contrôle citoyen de l'action publique

  • Faso Médias 2

    Formation Harmonies citoyennes – octobre 2018

  • Faso Médias 2

    Formation TV janvier 2018

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

Talents de femmes

En 2018, CFI a poursuivi son appui à la fiction africaine, notamment en accompagnant des talents féminins du continent dans le domaine de l’écriture d’une série télévisée, à travers le projet Talents de femmes. L’objectif […]

PAGOF

La participation au PGO (Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert) des pays d’Afrique francophone est encore limitée, mais le processus suscite de plus en plus d’intérêt. Dans ces pays, les médias traditionnels comme les médias en […]

Tasalah

En Irak, soutenir et renforcer le dialogue entre les différents acteurs de la réconciliation est primordial. Au sein de ce processus, les médias jouent un rôle majeur, car ils peuvent être soit un instrument au […]