Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

PAGOF

Project in Support of Open Governments in French-speaking Africa

Encouraging the administration and civil society to work towards an open government

Calendrier : October 2017 – October 2020 / Budget global : €1.5m


Although the involvement of French-speaking African countries in the Open Government Partnership (OGP) remains limited, the process is attracting increasing interest. Both traditional and online media play a key role in these countries in raising awareness of and promoting public support for OGP initiatives. Accountability, a hot topic amongst citizens’ aspirations, has become a driving force behind public policies.

The Projet d’Appui aux Gouvernements Ouverts Francophones (Project in Support of Open Governments in French-speaking Africa) (#PAGOF), implemented by CFI and Expertise France, supports administrations and civil society (including the media), in order to improve governance, access to information and citizen participation in the establishment and monitoring of public action in Tunisia, Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast. It builds on the work of the OGP, which today brings together 80 countries and civil society organisations.

By means of training sessions, specific technical support and thematic workshops, the administration and civil society in the beneficiary countries are strengthening their capabilities to collaborate and build, together, public policies that are more efficient, more transparent and more receptive to citizens’ expectations. The media organisations also benefit from training in data journalism and awareness and information about the major principles of open government.

In 2018, 250 people attended PAGOF training courses. Emphasis was placed on the consolidation of knowledge about the principles of the OGP and its methodology. In Tunisia, a practical guide to the principles of open government at local level was created to help the municipalities to implement those principles. In Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast, 32 people came together to strengthen their knowledge on the principles of monitoring and evaluation of the commitments of the National Action Plans (NAPs).

Promoting co-construction and citizen participation  

In Tunisia and Ivory Coast, the administration and civil society have been supported in the co-construction of their new National Action Plan, via support in leading public consultations, in which more than 400 citizens took part, and in arranging workshops for citizen evaluation and reflection.

In eight pilot municipalities in Burkina Faso, the mayors and agents, the members of community dialogue forums and the AMBF (Association of Municipalities in Burkina Faso) reflected on the harmonisation of budget documents, with the aim of producing a simplified guide.

Creating a regional dynamic

A seminar in Tunis brought together 180 representatives of governments and civil society organisations from 15 different French?speaking African countries, to share their experiences of open government. The participants heard about fourteen national experiences and reflected on practical solutions to the obstacles or restrictions encountered in the roll-out of open government.

“I’ve been working on open government in civil society in Togo for three years now and the PAGOF seminar is the first time I’m getting to meet the civil servants who are responsible for open government within the Togolese government, so I’ll be able to exchange views with them. For that reason alone the seminar is a success for me.” Comlangan Souleyman Tobias, journalist (Togo)

 

Playlist, 5 videos

Photo gallery

  • PAGOF

    Tunis seminar (November 2018)

  • PAGOF

    Tunis seminar (November 2018)

  • PAGOF

    Tunis seminar (November 2018)

  • PAGOF

    Tunis seminar (November 2018)

  • PAGOF

    1st data journalism training course – June 2018

  • PAGOF

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

Digital East

The use of online media is growing rapidly in Lebanon and it is essential for the written press to develop their digital output in order to maintain the link with their readership. Between 2016 and […]

EU-JDID

In the wake of the Arab Spring movements, Jordan has carried out a series of constitutional and political reforms aimed at constructing a “dynamic democracy”. As part of its strategy to promote the rule of […]

Tasalah

In Iraq, supporting and strengthening dialogue between the various stakeholders in the reconciliation process is vital. The media play a major role in this respect, as they can constitute either a tool to help achieve […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

PAGOF

Projet d’Appui aux Gouvernements Ouverts Francophones

Encourager l’administration et la société civile à œuvrer pour un gouvernement ouvert

Calendrier : octobre 2017 – octobre 2020 / Budget global : 1,5 M€


La participation au PGO (Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert) des pays d’Afrique francophone est encore limitée, mais le processus suscite de plus en plus d’intérêt. Dans ces pays, les médias traditionnels comme les médias en ligne, jouent un rôle essentiel de sensibilisation et d’adhésion du public aux initiatives du PGO. La redevabilité, thématique ancrée dans les aspirations citoyennes, est devenue un élément moteur des politiques publiques.

Le Projet d’Appui aux Gouvernements Ouverts Francophones (#PAGOF), mis en œuvre par CFI et Expertise France, accompagne les administrations et la société civile (dont les médias), afin d’améliorer la gouvernance, l’accès à l’information et la participation citoyenne dans la construction et le suivi de l’action  publique en Tunisie, au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire. Il s’inscrit dans le cadre du PGO, qui regroupe aujourd’hui 80 pays et des organisations de la société civile.

Par le biais de formations, d’appuis techniques spécifiques et d’ateliers thématiques, l’administration et la société civile des pays bénéficiaires renforcent  leurs capacités à collaborer et à construire, ensemble, des politiques publiques plus efficaces, plus transparentes et plus réceptives aux attentes des citoyens. Les médias bénéficient également de formations au journalisme de données et de sensibilisation et d’information sur les grands principes du gouvernement ouvert.

En 2018, 250 personnes ont bénéficié des formations PAGOF. L’accent a été mis sur le renforcement des connaissances sur les principes du PGO et sa méthodologie. En Tunisie, un guide pratique des principes du gouvernement ouvert au niveau local a été élaboré pour aider les municipalités à les mettre en œuvre. Au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire, 32 personnes ont renforcé leurs connaissances sur les principes de suivi et d’évaluation des engagements des Plans d’Actions Nationaux (PAN).

Promouvoir la co-construction et la participation citoyenne  

En Tunisie et en Côte d’Ivoire, l’administration et la société civile ont été appuyées dans la co-construction de leur nouveau Plan d’Actions National, via un soutien à l’animation de consultations publiques, auxquelles ont participé plus de 400 citoyens, et à la tenue d’ateliers de réflexion et d’évaluation citoyenne.

Dans huit communes pilotes du Burkina Faso, les maires et agents, les membres des espaces de dialogue et d’interpellation communautaire et de l’AMBF (Association des Municipalités de Burkina Faso) ont réfléchi à l’harmonisation des documents budgétaires, dans le but de produire un guide simplifié.

Créer une dynamique régionale

Un séminaire a réuni à Tunis 180 personnes issues des administrations et des organisations de la société civile de 15 pays d’Afrique francophone, pour partager des expériences réussies de gouvernement ouvert. Les participants ont découvert quatorze expériences nationales et réfléchi à des solutions pratiques aux obstacles ou freins rencontrés dans le déploiement du gouvernement ouvert.

Cela fait trois ans que je travaille sur le gouvernement ouvert dans la société civile du Togo et c’est au séminaire PAGOF que je rencontre pour la première fois les agents publics qui en sont responsables au sein de l’administration togolaise, avec qui je vais pouvoir échanger. Rien que pour ça, ce séminaire est pour moi un succès. »
Comlangan Souleyman Tobias, journaliste (Togo)

Playlist, 5 vidéos

Galerie photos

  • PAGOF

    Séminaire de Tunis – novembre 2018

  • PAGOF

    Séminaire de Tunis – novembre 2018

  • PAGOF

    Séminaire de Tunis – novembre 2018

  • PAGOF

    Séminaire de Tunis – novembre 2018

  • PAGOF

    1ère formation en journalisme de données - juin 2018

  • PAGOF

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

4M Asie

Après quatre années d’accompagnement des médias en ligne de sept pays d’Asie du Sud-Est, le projet 4M Asie a pris fin en avril 2018. Le forum de clôture, qui s’est tenu à Jakarta (Indonésie), a […]

Médias 360°

Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques […]

D-JIL

Créer des programmes numériques innovants et originaux, reflétant les enjeux auxquels les jeunes s’intéressent, constitue aujourd’hui une priorité pour les médias du monde arabe. De nombreuses études sur la jeunesse dans cette région montrent également […]