Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

4M Asia

Supporting the development of independent media outlets in South-East Asia

Calendrier : September 2014 – April 2018 / Budget global : €960,000


Throughout 2017, 4M Asie contributed to the development of twelve data journalism projects and to the strengthening of thirty community media outlets in South-East Asia.

Following a call for applications launched in February, twelve data journalism projects by independent media outlets from seven countries in South-East Asia (Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam) were selected. The teams enhanced their skills during three training sessions in Phnom Penh in May, Kuala Lumpur in July and Manila in October 2017. During the first workshop, participants learned the fundamental principles of data journalism and the associated editorial methods and the means for finding, analysing and interpreting data. The second session provided them with training in data visualisation. Finally, they learned how to present, monetise, organise, coordinate and complete a data journalism project.

 
At the end of this final workshop, the teams produced the documents required to complete and publish their investigation in 2018, such as the final pitch, the budget plan, the strategy for interacting with their communities or an impact study.

The transition from paper to digital and from daily press to investigative journalism is a complex issue for media outlets like ours, which do not necessarily have the appropriate tools. Thanks to this training, we have more confidence in our ability to adapt to these new challenges, to learn new ways of telling stories and to have an impact on our communities.
Marlon Alexander Luistro, chief editor of The Filipino Connection

Innovative tools and the collectivisation of resources

In 2017, 4M Asie also supported the development of online media outlets specialising local and community news. Thirty representatives of websites, blogs or radio stations in South-East Asia participated in a training session on innovative journalist tools and the creation of a network of community media outlets in the region. They discussed the issues and challenges of the participating media outlets in South-East Asia at a conference in Bangkok in July by addressing topics focusing on business models, news pluralism, data journalism and fake news. They then received training at one-week workshops, depending on their specialisation (radio, internet, blog), in innovative tools and collecting resources.

At the end of 2017, the members of the Alliance of Independant Journalists (AIJ) as well as the twelve chief editors of the community media outlets that contribute to Independen.id assessed the first year of existence of this Indonesian local news aggregator site, which was launched by the AJI in 2016 with the assistance of CFI. They were also made aware of the compilation of good journalistic practices on the internet; a guide modelled on that of the SPIIL (French Independent Online Press Union) was drafted before being adopted by the AIJ members.

 

Photo gallery

  • 4M Asia

    Atelier de formation au data journalisme à Phnom Penh (Cambodge) - mai 2017

  • 4M Asia

    Atelier de formation au data journalisme à Phnom Penh (Cambodge) - mai 2017

  • 4M Asia

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

  • 4M Asia

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

  • 4M Asia

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

  • 4M Asia

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Qudra

In 2016, CFI was entrusted with the media component of the Qudra project – a programme led by Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which ensures the collection and dissemination of […]

Digital East

In view of the growth of online media and changes in the ways in which information is consumed, embracing the digital era has become a key challenge for Lebanon’s French-language press. In 2017, CFI supported […]

Hiwar

In a climate of extreme political and economic volatility, Libyan media outlets are struggling to guarantee news pluralism in their country nowadays. Many journalists had to go into exile in order to retain their independence. […]

Menu
Rechercher

4M Asie

Participer à l’émergence de médias indépendants en Asie du Sud-Est

Calendrier : Septembre 2014 – Avril 2018 / Budget global : 960 K€


Tout au long de l’année 2017, 4M Asie a contribué au développement de douze projets de datajournalisme ainsi qu’au renforcement de trente médias communautaires d’Asie du Sud-Est.

A l’issue d’un appel à candidatures lancé en février, douze projets de datajournalisme de médias indépendants de sept pays d’Asie du Sud-Est (Cambodge, Indonésie, Malaisie, Myanmar, Philippines, Thaïlande et Vietnam) ont été sélectionnés. Les équipes ont renforcé leurs compétences lors de trois sessions de formation, à Phnom Penh en mai, à Kuala Lumpur en juillet et à Manille en octobre 2017. Lors du premier atelier, les participants ont appris les bases du data journalisme, les méthodes éditoriales associées ainsi que les moyens de trouver, d’analyser et d’interpréter les données. La seconde session les a formés à la visualisation des données. Enfin, ils ont appris comment présenter, monétiser, organiser, coordonner et finaliser un projet de data journalisme.

A l’issue de ce dernier atelier, les équipes ont produit les documents nécessaires à la finalisation et à la publication de leur enquête en 2018, tels que le pitch final, le plan budgétaire, la stratégie d’interaction avec leurs communautés ou encore une étude d’impacts.

Passer du papier au numérique et de la presse quotidienne au journalisme d’investigation est complexe pour des médias comme les nôtres, qui n’avons pas forcément les outils adéquats. Gâce à cette formation, nous sommes plus confiants dans notre capacité à nous adapter à ces nouveaux challenges, à apprendre de nouvelles façons de raconter des histoires et à avoir de l’impact sur nos communautés.
Marlon Alexander Luistro, rédacteur en chef The Filipino Connection

Outils innovants et collectivisation des ressources

En 2017, 4M Asie a aussi soutenu le développement de médias en ligne spécialisés dans l’information locale et communautaire. Trente représentants de sites web, de blogs ou de radios en Asie du Sud-Est ont participé en mai à une formation sur les outils journalistiques innovants et la création d’un réseau de médias communautaires dans la région. Ils ont échangé sur les enjeux et défis des médias participatifs en Asie du Sud-Est lors d’une conférence à Bangkok en juillet, en abordant des sujets consacrés aux modèles économiques, au pluralisme de l’information, ou encore le data journalisme et les fake news. Puis ils ont été formés lors d’ateliers d’une semaine, selon leur spécialisation (radio, web ou blog), à des outils innovants et à la collecte des ressources.

Fin 2017, les membres de l’AJI (Association des Journalistes Indépendants), ainsi que les douze rédacteurs en chef des médias communautaires contributeurs d’Independen.id ont dressé le bilan de la première année d’existence de ce site agrégateur d’informations locales indonésien, lancé en 2016 par l’AJI avec l’aide de CFI. Ils ont aussi été sensibilisés à la compilation de bonnes pratiques journalistiques sur le web ; un guide, sur le modèle de celui du SPIIL (Syndicat français de la presse indépendante d’information en ligne) a été rédigé, avant d’être adopté par les membres de l’AJI.

Galerie photos du projet

  • 4M Asie

    Atelier de formation au data journalisme à Phnom Penh (Cambodge) - mai 2017

  • 4M Asie

    Atelier de formation au data journalisme à Phnom Penh (Cambodge) - mai 2017

  • 4M Asie

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

  • 4M Asie

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

  • 4M Asie

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

  • 4M Asie

    Formation à l'innovation pour les radios communautaires – Bangkok (Thaïlande) - septembre 2017

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Regard Jeunesse Niger

La jeunesse nigérienne, qui représente aujourd’hui plus de la moitié de la population, manque de perspectives d’avenir. La crise politique, sécuritaire et économique nuit à la stabilité et à la cohésion sociale du pays. Face […]

Relèvement et stabilisation en RCA

En République centrafricaine (RCA), dans un contexte politique et sécuritaire toujours très instable, CFI place au cœur de son action le renforcement de la cohésion sociale et du « bien vivre ensemble », à travers le […]

Qudra

En 2016, CFI s’est vu confier le volet média du projet Qudra – programme mené par Expertise France et majoritairement financé par l’Union Européenne – qui assure la collecte et la diffusion des informations utiles […]