Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Support for the Jordanian media

New university courses new journalistic practices

Calendrier : March 2016 – June 2017 / Budget global : €640,000


In 2016, UNESCO’s office in Jordan entrusted CFI with the implementation of a component of the Support to Media programme which is financed by the European Union. This project, oriented towards initial training within universities and continuing professional development in digital technology, ended in June 2017.

In terms of initial training, Yarmouk University in Irbid and the Middle East University (MEU) in Amman, benefited from support in adapting their journalism courses to developments in the journalism profession and to the new requirements of the media. Since the start of the 2017-2018 academic year, they have integrated four new lessons into their courses: legislation, ethics, online journalism and radio and television investigation. They have also committed to increasing the amount of study time devoted to practical aspects, implementing workshops in groups of fifteen students and making use of external professional contributors more frequently.

Two training sessions for trainers were organised in January 2017 in order to promote the adoption of new subjects by the teachers at Yarmouk and MEU.  16 teachers were trained in teaching online and investigative journalism. This project therefore led to very significant changes in the journalism course at the two partner universities. Their executive managers particularly appreciated the partnership approach adopted by CFI and its partner, the ESJ (Ecole Supérieure de Journalisme), which consisted first and foremost in exchanging ideas and practices.

Prioritising digital technology

Regarding continuing professional development, CFI and the ESJ-Pro journalism college in Montpellier organised six one-week sessions in Amman, Irbid and Aqaba, from February to April 2017, on the basis of the results of a study on the training needs of Jordanian journalists, conducted by the Jordan Media Institute in 2016.

Led by Jordanian and Tunisian journalists, they addressed four subjects: data journalism, processing and displaying information, producing multimedia content and interactive content, social networks, and protecting sources and online communications. In parallel, four “masterclasses” were offered to media executives and managers on the following subjects: organising a 360° editorial department; innovative and sustainable business models; change management and audience measurement.

In total, 114 journalists (35% of whom were women) and 40 managers (35% of whom were women) attended these sessions. The evaluation conducted among participants revealed that over 70% of them were very satisfied. Some of the managers expressed a desire to benefit from new training in the field of digital media and multimedia.

We applied a global approach aimed at universities, students and active journalists. We hope that, at the end of this project, the teachers and professional journalists will be able to implement the skills developed during the training in order to make a real difference.
Louis Meunier, project coordinator for CFI

Photo gallery

  • Support for the Jordanian media

    Présentation des résultats de l’étude sur les besoins en formation des médias dans le domaine du numérique – Amman (Jordanie) – Janvier 2017

  • Support for the Jordanian media

    Présentation des résultats de l’étude sur les besoins en formation des médias dans le domaine du numérique – Amman (Jordanie) – Janvier 2017

  • Support for the Jordanian media

    Présentation des résultats de l’étude sur les besoins en formation des médias dans le domaine du numérique – Amman (Jordanie) – Janvier 2017

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Hiwar

In a climate of extreme political and economic volatility, Libyan media outlets are struggling to guarantee news pluralism in their country nowadays. Many journalists had to go into exile in order to retain their independence. […]

Writing and producing in Africa

In 2017, CFI continued its support for African creativity and drama via several projects relating to series, from creating the screenplay through to directing the episodes. Script Talents At the end of the Script Talents […]

Médias 360°

Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in […]

Menu
Rechercher

Appui aux médias jordaniens

Nouveaux cursus universitaires, nouvelles pratiques journalistiques

Calendrier : Mars 2016 - Juin 2017 / Budget global : 640 K€


En 2016, le bureau de l’UNESCO en Jordanie a confié à CFI la mise en œuvre d’un volet du programme d’aide aux médias financé par l’Union Européenne. Ce projet, orienté vers la formation initiale au sein des universités et la formation continue dans le domaine du numérique, a pris fin en juin 2017.

Sur le plan de la formation initiale, l’université de Yarmouk à Irbid et la « Middle East University » (MEU) à Amman ont bénéficié d’un appui pour adapter leurs cursus de journalisme aux évolutions du métier de journaliste et aux nouveaux besoins des médias. Depuis la rentrée 2017-2018, elles ont intégré à leurs cursus quatre nouveaux cours : législation, éthique, journalisme en ligne, investigation radio et télévisuelle. Elles se sont également engagées à augmenter le temps d’étude consacré à la pratique, à mettre en place des ateliers en groupes de quinze étudiants et à recourir plus souvent à des intervenants professionnels extérieurs.

Deux sessions de formation de formateurs ont été organisées en janvier 2017, afin de favoriser l’appropriation des nouvelles matières par les professeurs de Yarmouk et de MEU. Seize professeurs ont été formés à l’enseignement du journalisme en ligne et à l’investigation. Ce projet a ainsi abouti à des changements très importants dans le cursus du journalisme des deux universités partenaires. Leurs cadres dirigeants ont particulièrement apprécié l’approche partenariale adoptée par CFI et son partenaire l’ESJ (Ecole Supérieure de Journalisme) consistant avant tout en un échange d’idées et de pratiques.

Priorité au numérique

Concernant la formation continue, CFI et l’ESJ Pro de Montpellier ont monté six sessions d’une semaine à Amman, Irbid et Aqaba, de février à avril 2017, en se basant sur les résultats d’une étude consacrée aux besoins en formation des journalistes jordaniens, menée par le Jordan Media Institute en 2016.

Dispensées par des journalistes jordaniens et tunisiens, elles ont abordé quatre thématiques : le journalisme de données, le traitement et la visualisation de l’information, la production de contenus multimédia et de contenus interactifs, les réseaux sociaux, ainsi que la protection des sources et des communications en ligne. En parallèle, quatre masterclass ont été proposées à des cadres et dirigeants de médias, sur les thèmes suivants : l’organisation d’une rédaction 360° ; les modèles économiques innovants et durables ; la gestion du changement et des mesures d’audience.

Au total, 114 journalistes (dont 35% de femmes) et 40 cadres (dont 35% de femmes) ont suivi ces sessions. L’évaluation réalisée auprès des participants a révélé que plus de 70% d’entre eux étaient très satisfaits. Certains cadres ont émis le souhait de bénéficier à l’avenir de nouvelles formations dans le domaine du numérique et du multimédia

Nous avons appliqué une approche globale visant les universités, les étudiants et les journalistes en activité. Nous espérons qu’à l’issue de ce projet, les enseignants et les journalistes professionnels seront en mesure de mettre en œuvre les compétences développées lors de la formation pour apporter une réelle différence.
Louis Meunier, coordinateur du projet pour CFI

Galerie photos du projet

  • Appui aux médias jordaniens

    Présentation des résultats de l’étude sur les besoins en formation des médias dans le domaine du numérique – Amman (Jordanie) – Janvier 2017

  • Appui aux médias jordaniens

    Présentation des résultats de l’étude sur les besoins en formation des médias dans le domaine du numérique – Amman (Jordanie) – Janvier 2017

  • Appui aux médias jordaniens

    Présentation des résultats de l’étude sur les besoins en formation des médias dans le domaine du numérique – Amman (Jordanie) – Janvier 2017

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Médias 360°

Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques […]

Hiwar

Dans un climat d’extrême volatilité politique et économique, les médias libyens peinent aujourd’hui à garantir le pluralisme de l’information dans leur pays. De nombreux journalistes ont dû s’exiler pour conserver leur indépendance. En 2017, Hiwar […]

Qudra

En 2016, CFI s’est vu confier le volet média du projet Qudra – programme mené par Expertise France et majoritairement financé par l’Union Européenne – qui assure la collecte et la diffusion des informations utiles […]