Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Ebticar

Evaluation phase after two years of strengthening online media in the Arab world

Calendrier : January 2014 – December 2016 / Budget global : €2.323m


CFI has undertaken a process of continual improvement of its practices. In order to verify the impact, effectiveness, efficiency and results of the projects implemented, external organisations are tasked with evaluating several projects each year. Thus, in 2017, CFI tasked Transtec with conducting the final evaluation of the EBTICAR project.

Its main objective was to analyse to what extent this regional programme, which had been rolled out in countries lying to the south and east of the Mediterranean Basin, had enabled online media to integrate in their socio-professional environment, notably vis-à-vis the four expected results. It also sought to gauge whether CFI had fulfilled the expectations of EBTICAR and in what ways its management activities and those of its partners contributed to achieving the expected results.

This evaluation confirmed the value of the intervention logic of CFI and its partners, since the online media players were placed at the centre of the process, with the diversity of their respective backgrounds, their requirements and the nature of the projects being taken into account.

350 journalists trained, 250 articles published

The evaluators found that the EBTICAR project has achieved a very satisfactory level of effectiveness, since it has successfully trained and mobilised 350 journalists, including citizen-journalists. More than 25 joint initiatives have been started between the beneficiaries. Partnerships were forged with Babelmed and other traditional media outlets and civil society organisations. Babelmed has published 250 articles, and five special reports have been produced jointly by the beneficiaries.

Although most of the selected projects were online projects having a national scope, EBTICAR has proven to be effective in transcending geographical borders by stimulating transnational and multi-sector partnerships, in particular by encouraging social media to work together with news media. The quality of EBTICAR has been duly recognised, and the beneficiaries have won 11 international awards between them.

Excellent technical, administrative and financial management

Moreover, an analysis of the efficiency factors by the evaluators revealed the excellent technical, administrative and financial management provided by CFI and its partners. Given the number of activities performed in relation to the personnel costs, the evaluation panel considers the cost/benefit ratio to be positive.

Finally, in terms of sustainability, the evaluation highlights that all the beneficiary organisations are still active and are continuing to develop. New platforms have been created by the beneficiaries themselves. EBTICAR has become a true benchmark, and has attracted funding from other donors such as the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (PACA) region in southern France.

Among the other projects subjected to an external evaluation in 2017, mention can be made of Faso Media and Images of Africa – Training.

 

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Médias 360°

Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in […]

Writing and producing in Africa

In 2017, CFI continued its support for African creativity and drama via several projects relating to series, from creating the screenplay through to directing the episodes. Script Talents At the end of the Script Talents […]

Support for the Jordanian media

In 2016, UNESCO’s office in Jordan entrusted CFI with the implementation of a component of the Support to Media programme which is financed by the European Union. This project, oriented towards initial training within universities […]

Menu
Rechercher

Ebticar

Phase d’évaluation après deux ans de renforcement des médias en ligne dans le monde arabe

Calendrier : Janvier 2014 – Décembre 2016 / Budget global : 2,323 M€


CFI est engagé dans un processus d’amélioration continue de ses pratiques. Afin de vérifier l’impact, l’efficacité, l’efficience et les résultats des projets mis en œuvre, plusieurs évaluations de projets sont confiées chaque année à des organismes externes. Ainsi, en 2017, CFI a chargé le cabinet Transtec de réaliser l’évaluation finale du projet EBTICAR.

Son objectif principal était d’analyser dans quelle mesure ce programme régional, mis en œuvre dans les pays du sud de la Méditerranée, a permis l’intégration des médias en ligne dans leur environnement socio-professionnel, notamment vis-à-vis des quatre résultats attendus. Elle a également cherché à mesurer si CFI a répondu aux attentes d’EBTICAR et de quelle façon sa gestion et celle de ses partenaires a contribué à atteindre les résultats escomptés.

Cette évaluation a confirmé la pertinence de la logique d’intervention de CFI et de ses partenaires, car les acteurs des médias numériques ont été mis au centre du processus, en tenant compte de la diversité de leurs profils, de leurs besoins et de la nature des projets.

350 journalistes formés, 250 articles publiés

Les évaluateurs ont jugé que le projet EBTICAR a atteint un niveau d’efficacité très satisfaisant, puisqu’il a réussi à former et à mobiliser 350 journalistes, y compris des journalistes citoyens. Plus de 25 collaborations ont été initiées entre les bénéficiaires. Des partenariats se sont créés avec Babelmed et d’autres médias traditionnels et organisations de la société civile. Babelmed a publié 250 articles et 5 dossiers thématiques ont été réalisés conjointement par les bénéficiaires.

Bien que la plupart des projets sélectionnés étaient des projets en ligne à portée nationale, EBTICAR s’est révélé efficace pour surmonter les frontières géographiques, en stimulant les collaborations transnationales et multi-sectorielles, notamment en sollicitant des collaborations entre médias sociaux et médias d’information. La qualité d’ EBTICAR a été dûment reconnue et 11 récompenses internationales ont été décernées aux bénéficiaires.

Excellente gestion technique, administrative et financière

En outre, l’analyse des facteurs d’efficience par les évaluateurs a démontré l’excellente gestion technique, administrative et financière de CFI et ses partenaires. Compte tenu du nombre d’activités réalisées par rapport aux dépenses de personnel, la mission d’évaluation considère que la relation coût-bénéfice est positive.

Enfin, en termes de durabilité, l’évaluation souligne que toutes les organisations bénéficiaires sont toujours actives et continuent à se développer. De nouvelles plateformes ont été créées par les bénéficiaires eux-mêmes. EBTICAR est devenu une référence et a attiré le financement d’autres donateurs tels que la région PACA dans le sud de la France.

Parmi les autres projets ayant fait l’objet d’une évaluation externe en 2017, on peut citer Faso Médias et Images d’Afrique Formation.

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Dialogues Citoyens

Dans de nombreux pays africains, la société civile affiche son désir de participer activement à la vie publique. Dialogues citoyens accompagne ces aspirations à travers une aide spécifique aux médias, notamment au Burkina Faso et en Guinée.

Ecrire et produire en Afrique

En 2017, CFI a poursuivi son appui à la fiction et à la création africaine à travers plusieurs projets de séries, de la conception du scénario à la réalisation des épisodes. Talents de scripts A […]

Naila

L’internet a redéfini en profondeur les conditions de production, de traitement de l’information et, au-delà, les méthodes de travail journalistique des rédactions. Si la majorité des grands médias traditionnels ont pris le virage de l’innovation […]