FR

Echoes of women’s voices

Hitting the road to meet the women of Morocco

Despite legislation that is favourable towards the development of equality and protects women’s rights in Morocco, discrimination and violations of these rights still continue. In rural regions, less than one third of young women have been to school and more than half are illiterate.

Timetable

November 2018 – May 2020

Total budget

€150,000

Democratic governance Digital Gender equality Social cohesion Young people

The Echoes of Women’s Voices project encourages the participation of young rural Moroccan women in the Marrakesh-Safi region, in order to give them a voice, to bring to light their own vision of society and to let them express their plans and aspirations. 

In 2019, a minivan was equipped with a radio studio and a pair of 1000-watt solar panels. The teams from the AIC (Association Initiatives Citoyennes – Citizen Initiatives Association), which is behind the project, travelled more than 20,000 kilometres over nine months and met with over 500 men and women.

They gathered together their stories into two programmes: Timgharine (which means “women” in Amazigh), which touched on their needs, problems, requirements and expectations, and Moubadarat-Nissaiya (which means “female initiatives” in Arabic), which highlighted their initiatives and plans.

“I am moved by this experience, which was at first a dream. Today, I am seeing it carried out in front of me, with all these young people, and I am enormously touched by that. I hope that this will help to strengthen the rights of women and ensure that their voices are heard in the region.” Yassine Aabbar, president of the AIC

Discussion groups in eight provinces

Members of the AIC and contributors also benefited from training sessions on social media, media production techniques and advocacy techniques.

For its part, FMAS (Forum des Alternatives Maroc – Forum for Alternatives in Morocco), another project partner, commissioned Regiminis to carry out an assessment of the obstacles preventing equal access to rights in the Marrakesh-Safi region. The assessment, carried out in October 2019, is based on field work involving eight discussion groups with representatives of civil society and stakeholders working for gender equality.

These meetings were held in eight provinces or prefectures within the region. 199 people were interviewed (men, women, female leaders, elected officials and executives). In all categories, changing people’s attitudes is the main pathway towards greater equality.


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

Échos des voix féminines

Partir sur les routes, à la rencontre des femmes marocaines

Malgré une législation favorable au développement de la parité et protectrice des droits des femmes au Maroc, les discriminations et violations de ces droits persistent. Dans les régions rurales, moins d’un tiers des jeunes femmes sont scolarisées et plus de la moitié sont touchées par l’analphabétisme.

Calendrier

Novembre 2018 – mai 2020

Budget global

150 K€

Cohésion sociale Egalité homme femmes Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse Numérique

Le projet Échos des voix féminines encourage la participation des jeunes femmes marocaines du monde rural, dans la région de Marrakech-Safi, afin de leur donner la parole, de mettre en lumière leur propre vision de la société, et de les laisser exprimer leurs projets et leurs attentes. 

En 2019, un mini-van a été équipé d’un studio radio et de deux panneaux solaires d’une capacité de 1000 watts chacun. Les équipes de l’AIC (Association Initiatives Citoyennes), à l’origine du projet, ont parcouru plus de 20 000 kilomètres en neuf mois et rencontré plus de 500 femmes et hommes.

Ils ont recueilli leurs témoignages dans deux émissions : Timgharine (qui signifie « femmes » en langue amazigh) qui évoque leurs besoins, problèmes, exigences et attentes ; et Moubadarat-Nissaiya (qui signifie « initiatives féminines » en arabe), un espace où leurs initiatives et projets sont mis en valeur.

Je suis ému par cette expérience qui était d’abord un rêve. Aujourd’hui, je la vois réalisée devant moi, avec tous ces jeunes et cela me touche énormément. J’espère que cela participera à renforcer les droits des femmes et à faire entendre leur voix au niveau de la région. » Yassine Aabbar, président de l’AIC

Des groupes de discussion dans huit provinces

Des membres de l’AIC et des contributrices ont également bénéficié d’une formation aux réseaux sociaux, d’une formation aux techniques de production médias et d’une formation aux techniques de plaidoyer.

De son côté, FMAS (Forum des Alternatives Maroc), autre partenaire du projet, a mandaté le cabinet Regiminis pour établir un diagnostic des entraves à un accès égal aux droits dans la région de Marrakech-Safi. Le diagnostic, rendu en octobre 2019, se base sur un travail de terrain comptant huit groupes de discussion avec des représentants de la société civile et des acteurs œuvrant pour l’égalité entre les sexes.

Ces réunions se sont déroulées dans huit provinces ou préfectures du territoire régional. 199 personnes ont été interviewées (hommes, femmes, femmes leaders, élus et cadres). Dans toutes les catégories, l’évolution des mentalités constitue la piste principale vers plus d’égalité.


Autres projets menés en 2019