Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

EcoMedias

Strengthening the capabilities of the Burkinan media to deal with economic and budgetary issues

Calendrier : May 2018 – May 2021 / Budget global : €352,000


Since the protests in Burkina Faso in 2014, the citizens aspire to greater transparency from their leaders. However, the forms of action for participating in public life are still obscure and the media, in turn, are still struggling to master the budgetary and economic management mechanisms to handle these subjects.

The EcoMédias (EcoMedia) project, led by the UNALFA (Union Nationale de l’Audiovisuel Libre du Faso, National Union of Free Audiovisual Media of Burkina Faso) in partnership with CFI and funded by the European Union, is aimed at strengthening the capabilities of the Burkinan media to deal with economic and budgetary issues in order to encourage transparency in the management of public affairs and the debate surrounding these issues in Burkina Faso. It continues on from the Faso Médias (Faso Media) project (2015-2018).

One of the first steps consisted in setting up working groups in Dori and Ouagadougou, around four target audiences: media outlets, local authorities, young people (15-35 years), civil society organisations. The gender dimension was taken into account in the identification of participants.

Workshops on the concepts of citizenship

For each group, six subjects were covered: the knowledge of mechanisms to facilitate citizen-led control of public initiatives at a local level (“legal” dimension), citizenship from the point of view of citizens and public powers, facilitating local political dialogue by media organisations, economic and budgetary challenges at a local, national and community level and the links between them, and lastly the local political system (relationships between the various stakeholders in local citizenship).

By building up a picture of the knowledge that each of these target audiences has in respect of each subject and gathering data on the way in which they perceive the role of citizens, this project has helped to improve the quality of public debate and to strengthen citizen-led control with respect to good economic governance, at both a local and national level.

Photo gallery

  • EcoMedias

    Charlemagne Abissi, president of UNALFA (National Union of Free Audiovisual Media of Burkina Faso) at the launch of the EcoMedia project

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

Faso Medias 2

In the wake of historic local and national elections, there are very high expectations of the new regime in Burkinan society. While certain policy directions remain to be defined for media organisations and civil society, […]

Qudra

For almost three years, CFI has been managing the media component of the European Qudra programme – led by the GIZ, in partnership with Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which […]

Digital Readings

In Lebanon, despite facing significant economic difficulties, the French-language press is appreciated by many Lebanese people who still feel an attachment to France and the French language. This context is favourable to the development of […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

EcoMédias

Renforcer les capacités des médias burkinabè à traiter des questions économiques et budgétaires

Calendrier : mai 2018 – mai 2021 / Budget global : 352 K€


Depuis les manifestations de 2014 au Burkina Faso, les citoyens aspirent à une plus grande transparence de leurs dirigeants. Cependant les modalités d’action pour participer à la vie publique sont encore méconnues et les médias, de leur côté, maitrisent encore difficilement les mécanismes de gestion budgétaire et économique pour traiter ces sujets.

Le projet EcoMédias, mené par l’UNALFA (Union Nationale de l’Audiovisuel Libre du Faso) en partenariat avec CFI et financé par l’Union européenne, vise à renforcer les capacités des médias burkinabè à traiter des questions économiques et budgétaires afin d’encourager la transparence dans la gestion des affaires publiques et le débat autour de ces questions. Il s’inscrit dans la continuité du projet Faso Médias (2015-2018).

L’une des premières étapes a consisté à monter des groupes de travail à Dori et Ouagadougou, autour de quatre publics cibles : médias, autorités locales, jeunes (15-35 ans), organisations de la société civile. La dimension genre a été prise en compte dans l’identification des participants.

Ateliers autour des notions de citoyenneté

Pour chaque groupe, six thématiques ont été abordées : la connaissance des mécanismes pour faciliter le contrôle citoyen de l’action publique au niveau local (dimension « juridique »), la citoyenneté du point de vue des citoyens et des pouvoirs publics, la facilitation du dialogue politique local par les médias, les enjeux économiques et budgétaires locaux, nationaux et communautaires et leurs articulations et enfin, le système politique local (relations entre les différents acteurs de la citoyenneté locale).

En établissant ainsi une photographie des connaissances de ces publics ciblés par thématique et en recueillant les données sur la manière dont ceux-ci perçoivent le rôle du citoyen, ce projet a contribué à améliorer la qualité du débat public et à renforcer le contrôle citoyen en matière de bonne gouvernance économique, tant au niveau local que national.

Galerie photos

  • EcoMédias

    Charlemagne Abissi, président de l’UNALFA, lors du lancement du projet Eco Médias

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

PAGOF

La participation au PGO (Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert) des pays d’Afrique francophone est encore limitée, mais le processus suscite de plus en plus d’intérêt. Dans ces pays, les médias traditionnels comme les médias en […]

Lectures Numériques

Au Liban, la presse francophone, même si elle connaît d’importantes difficultés économiques, est appréciée par de nombreux Libanais qui gardent un attachement envers la France et la langue française. Ce contexte est favorable au développement […]

Tasalah

En Irak, soutenir et renforcer le dialogue entre les différents acteurs de la réconciliation est primordial. Au sein de ce processus, les médias jouent un rôle majeur, car ils peuvent être soit un instrument au […]