FR

Writing and producing in Africa 2

Supporting the creation of African drama series

In 2019, CFI provided support for the production of several projects for African television series in the areas of writing, coaching actors, directing and production management.

Timetable

May 2018 – December 2019

Total budget

€225,000

Gender equality Social cohesion The French-speaking world Young people

One of these projects was Oasis, a Togolese series comprising twenty 26-minute episodes produced by Yobo Studios. A workshop focusing on production management and all its components (production assistants, general production, etc.) run by a Senegalese expert, Ousmane Fall, provided training to five young people from Togo, who then joined the film crew. This series has been broadcast on Canal+ Afrique since December 2019.

For the series Doame, produced by Senegalese company Prod Sympa, a writing workshop run by screenwriter Alain Patetta was held in Senegal for five young people aged between 25 and 30, to teach them the basics of writing a television series and produce all the scenes for the eight 52-minute episodes in the series with the help of remote supervision. Filming is scheduled to start in 2020.

Tool for raising awareness and generating debate in sensitive areas

In 2018 and 2019, CFI organised numerous writing workshops in Dakar and Saint-Louis, run by showrunner* Charli Beleteau, for the series Wara (ex-Bruits de tambours), in order to train six screenwriters on how to write episodes in a 45-minute format. Wara was the central element of an awareness-raising programme, run in Senegal and financed by the Agence Française de Développement (AFD), for social change and promotion of a participatory and inclusive democracy, in favour of women and young people in particular. This series was also part of the activities carried out under the MediaSahel project developed by CFI and funded by the AFD in Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger. For this project, the televised series will be adapted for radio and translated into four local languages to serve as a tool for raising awareness and generating debate in sensitive areas of Sahel. The radio adaptation will be called Dianké.

Produced by Senegalese company Keewu Productions, Wara will benefit from significant visibility as it will be broadcast exclusively to 291 million households that make up the TV5 Monde audience over the course of 2020.

Finally, the second edition of “Afrique au féminin” brought together seven producers from seven different countries to discuss and report on the subject of the role of women in African society. The reports envisaged and produced were shown on Canal+ Afrique on International Women’s Day on 8 March 2019 during a special edition of the programme Enquête d’Afrique.

*Somebody who directs the writing and coordinates the screenwriting team of a television series


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

Écrire et produire en Afrique 2

Soutenir la création de séries de fictions africaines

En 2019, CFI a accompagné la production de plusieurs projets de séries télévisées africaines dans le domaine de l’écriture, du coaching de comédiens et comédiennes, de la réalisation et de la direction de production.

Calendrier

Mai 2018 – décembre 2019

Budget global

225 K€

Cohésion sociale Egalité homme femmes Francophonie Jeunesse

Parmi ces projets, Oasis, une série togolaise de vingt épisodes de 26 minutes, produite par la société Yobo Studios. Un atelier axé sur la direction de production et toutes ses composantes (assistanat de production, régie générale…) animé par un expert sénégalais, Ousmane Fall, a formé cinq jeunes togolais, qui ont ensuite rejoint l’équipe de tournage. Cette série est diffusée sur Canal+ Afrique depuis décembre 2019.

Pour la série Daome, produite par la société sénégalaise la Prod Sympa, un atelier d’écriture encadré par le scénariste Alain Patetta a réuni au Sénégal cinq jeunes âgés de 25 à 30 ans, pour acquérir les bases de l’écriture d’une série télévisée et rendre, grâce à un travail de suivi à distance, l’ensemble des scénarios des huit épisodes de 52 minutes de la série. Le tournage est prévu pour 2020.

Outil de sensibilisation et de débat dans les zones sensibles

En 2018 et 2019, CFI a organisé plusieurs ateliers d’écriture à Dakar et Saint-Louis, sous la direction du showrunner* Charli Beleteau, pour la série Wara (ex-Bruits de tambours), afin de former six scénaristes à l’écriture d’épisodes au format de 45 minutes. Wara était l’élément central d’un programme de sensibilisation, conduit au Sénégal et financé par l’AFD, pour le changement social et la promotion d’une démocratie participative et inclusive, notamment en faveur des femmes et des jeunes. Cette série s’est inscrite également dans les actions du projet MediaSahel, développé par CFI et financé par l’AFD au Mali, Burkina Faso et Niger. Pour ce projet, la série télévisée sera adaptée au format radiophonique et traduite dans quatre langues locales pour servir d’outil de sensibilisation et de débat dans les zones sensibles du Sahel et s’appellera Dianké.

Produite par la société sénégalaise Keewu Productions, Wara bénéficiera d’une visibilité importante, puisqu’elle sera diffusée en exclusivité auprès des 291 millions de foyers qui constituent l’audience de TV5 Monde dans le courant de l’année 2020.

Enfin, la deuxième édition d’Afrique au féminin a rassemblé sept réalisateurs et réalisatrices de sept pays différents sur le thème de la place des femmes dans la société africaine. Les reportages imaginés et produits ont été diffusés sur Canal+ Afrique à l’occasion de la Journée internationale des droits des femmes du 8 mars 2019, dans une édition spéciale de l’émission Enquête d’Afrique.

* Personne qui dirige l’écriture et coordonne l’équipe de scénaristes d’une série télévisée


Autres projets menés en 2019