Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Writing and producing in Africa

Supporting the creation of African series

Calendrier : September 2015 – December 2017 / Budget global : €360,000


In 2017, CFI continued its support for African creativity and drama via several projects relating to series, from creating the screenplay through to directing the episodes.

Script Talents

At the end of the Script Talents contest, 11 scriptwriters were chosen out of nearly 130 hopefuls. After various writing workshops, two of these authors were selected to provide the finishing touches to the scripts for the series entitled “Sakho et Mangane”, which addresses social issues and current affairs in Africa. Filming for the first two episodes began in Dakar (Senegal) in 2017.

Direct yourself!

Direct yourself! participants were trained in the technical aspects of directing TV series in Dakar, mentored by the French director and scriptwriter Charli Beleteau. At the end of the training course, the six most promising directors were selected to direct three episodes of the series C’est la vie. Three of them filmed the final season. The series has been aired since 2015 in the vast majority of the countries of sub-Saharan Africa, with over 100 million potential viewers for over 1,000 hours of broadcasting time.

What I found most attractive about this series is the fact that it talks about women. The filming gave me experience and I really loved being a part of this adventure!
Lucrèce d’Almeida, actress in C’est la vie

Popenguine

Six young scriptwriters from Senegal, one of whom had taken part in the Script Talents project, received training in how to develop characters, plots, story arcs and screenplays – using the Sabido methodology – in order to tell the tale of a group of young Africans having to face up to the challenges of modern times (access to employment, sexuality, drugs, radicalisation, etc.). They are now working on writing the screenplays. The series is scheduled to be put into production in 2018 for broadcast on TV5 Monde.

Best Female Talents 

In May 2017, CFI joined forces with the production company Keewu to launch “Best Female Talents”. This project involves helping female African journalists and writers who are experienced (i.e. who have already had their work published) to master the techniques of scriptwriting. The three participants, selected from 253 applications received, come from Senegal, Benin and the Ivory Coast. Three of the four writing workshops scheduled have already been held (between July and December 2017, in Senegal and Bissau).

Invisible

For the Invisible series, produced by the Ivorian production company TSK Production, three “script doctoring” workshops intended for authors, assistant directors and young amateur actors were organised in 2017. Filming for the series took place in Abidjan (Ivory Coast). Canal+ plans to broadcast it in September 2018.

Bruits de tambours (beat of the drums)

Five scriptwriters were selected from CFI’s database, enriched by the calls for applications launched on the call for applications platform two years ago. The Bruits de tambours series, written in 2017, relates to the themes of “governance” and “gender”, for instance the participation of women in civic life. It will be filmed in the region of Saint-Louis in Senegal at the end of 2018, with funding from the AFD (Agence Française de Développement).

Photo gallery

  • Writing and producing in Africa

    Sur le tournage de Sakho et Mangane

  • Writing and producing in Africa

    L’équipe de F et G

  • Writing and producing in Africa

    L’équipe de Popenguine

  • Writing and producing in Africa

    Toute l’équipe de tournage d’Invisibles

  • Writing and producing in Africa

    Atelier de coaching de jeunes acteurs d’Invisibles

  • Writing and producing in Africa

    Deux scénaristes de Talents de script

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Qudra

In 2016, CFI was entrusted with the media component of the Qudra project – a programme led by Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which ensures the collection and dissemination of […]

Médias 360°

Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in […]

Ebticar

CFI has undertaken a process of continual improvement of its practices. In order to verify the impact, effectiveness, efficiency and results of the projects implemented, external organisations are tasked with evaluating several projects each year. […]

Menu
Rechercher

Ecrire et produire en Afrique

Un soutien à la création de séries africaines

Calendrier : Septembre 2015 – Décembre 2017 / Budget global : 360 K€


En 2017, CFI a poursuivi son appui à la fiction et à la création africaine à travers plusieurs projets de séries, de la conception du scénario à la réalisation des épisodes.

Talents de scripts

A l’issue du concours Talents de scripts, onze scénaristes avaient été choisis sur près de 130 candidatures. Parmi eux, deux des auteurs ont été retenus après les différents ateliers d’écriture pour le lissage final des textes d’une série intitulée « Sakho et Mangane », qui aborde des questions de société ou d’actualité en Afrique. Le tournage des deux premiers épisodes a débuté en 2017 à Dakar (Sénégal).

Réalise-toi

Les participants de Réalise-toi ont été formés à Dakar à la réalisation technique de séries télévisées, grâce au savoir-faire du réalisateur et scénariste français Charli Beleteau. A l’issue de cette formation, une première sélection a mis en avant six réalisateurs, qui se sont vu confier la réalisation de trois épisodes de la série « C’est la vie ». Trois d’entre eux ont tourné la dernière saison. Cette série a été diffusée depuis 2015 dans une grande majorité de pays d’Afrique sub-saharienne, avec plus de 100 millions de téléspectateurs potentiels pour plus de 1000 heures d’antenne.

Ce qui m’a le plus attirée dans cette série, c’est qu’elle parle des femmes. Le tournage m’a fait gagner en expérience et j’ai vraiment adoré participer à cette aventure !
Lucrèce d’Almeida, actrice de C’est la vie

Popenguine

Six jeunes scénaristes sénégalais, dont un issu de la promotion de « Talents de Scripts », ont été formés pour développer des personnages, intrigues, scénarios et arches narratives, selon la méthode Sabido, pour créer l’histoire d’une bande de jeunes africains confrontés aux difficultés de leur époque (accès à l’emploi, sexualité, drogue, radicalisation…). Ils sont maintenant engagés dans l’écriture des scénarios. La mise en production de la série est prévue en 2018 pour une diffusion sur TV5 Monde.

Talents de femmes 

En mai 2017, CFI s’est associé à la maison de production Keewu pour lancer « Talents de femmes ». Ce projet consiste à accompagner des femmes écrivains ou journalistes africaines expérimentées, ayant déjà été publiées, dans la maîtrise des techniques d’écriture de scénarios. Les trois participantes, sélectionnées parmi 253 candidatures reçues, viennent du Sénégal, du Bénin et de Côte d’Ivoire. Sur les quatre ateliers d’écriture prévus, trois se sont déjà tenus entre juillet et décembre 2017 au Sénégal et à Bissau.

Invisibles

Pour la série « Invisibles », produite par la société de production ivoirienne TSK Production, trois ateliers de script doctoring, destinés à des auteurs, des assistants de réalisation et de jeunes acteurs amateurs, ont été organisés en 2017. Le tournage de la série s’est déroulé à Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire). Canal+ envisage une diffusion en septembre 2018.

Bruits de tambours

Cinq scénaristes ont été sélectionnés dans la base de données de CFI, enrichie par les appels à candidatures lancés depuis deux ans sur la plateforme d’appels à candidatures. La série « Bruits de tambour », écrite en 2017, porte sur une thématique « gouvernance » et « genre », comme la participation des femmes à la vie citoyenne. Elle sera tournée fin 2018 dans la région de Saint-Louis du Sénégal, avec un financement de l’AFD (Agence Française de Développement).

Galerie photos du projet

  • Ecrire et produire en Afrique

    Sur le tournage de Sakho et Mangane

  • Ecrire et produire en Afrique

    L’équipe de F et G

  • Ecrire et produire en Afrique

    L’équipe de Popenguine

  • Ecrire et produire en Afrique

    Toute l’équipe de tournage d’Invisibles

  • Ecrire et produire en Afrique

    Atelier de coaching de jeunes acteurs d’Invisibles

  • Ecrire et produire en Afrique

    Deux scénaristes de Talents de script

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

4M Asie

Tout au long de l’année 2017, 4M Asie a contribué au développement de douze projets de datajournalisme ainsi qu’au renforcement de trente médias communautaires d’Asie du Sud-Est. A l’issue d’un appel à candidatures lancé en […]

Connexions citoyennes

L’exigence croissante d’un contrôle citoyen de l’action publique et l’explosion des médias en ligne constituent une opportunité sans précédent pour les jeunes Africains engagés qui innovent dans ce domaine. Ces acteurs du changement manquent encore […]

Hiwar

Dans un climat d’extrême volatilité politique et économique, les médias libyens peinent aujourd’hui à garantir le pluralisme de l’information dans leur pays. De nombreux journalistes ont dû s’exiler pour conserver leur indépendance. En 2017, Hiwar […]