Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

EU-JDID

EU support to Jordan Democratic Institutions & Development

Encouraging more professional coverage of political, parliamentary and electoral news

Calendrier : June 2017 – May 2021 / Budget global : €1.6m


In the wake of the Arab Spring movements, Jordan has carried out a series of constitutional and political reforms aimed at constructing a “dynamic democracy”. As part of its strategy to promote the rule of law, the European Union (EU) has launched a programme to support this process, the JDID project, which means new in Arabic.

The media component of JDID, implemented by CFI, includes training political journalists, but also raising awareness among elected representatives of the need to communicate with the media. Between March and October 2018, a cycle of training courses in political journalism, comprising eight five-day sessions, brought together 68 journalists in Amman. Half of them were women, 54% of whom were under the age of 35.

The participants were able to practise political interviewing under real-life conditions with individuals invited to press conferences. They all emphasised the challenges faced by the profession of journalism in Jordan. Some of them said that this week of training had given them more confidence in themselves.

The training made me think about the concepts of credibility, objectivity, neutrality and the need to consult at least three sources. I’ve learnt how to use figures and how to analyse them, to choose experts and properly present the context, so that the reader receives the right message”, one participant said.

An innovative audio programme broadcast over social networks

“Le Parlement”, an audio programme created by Sowt, a young Jordanian podcast company, was also launched in September for broadcasting over various channels (social networks, podcast platforms, traditional radio stations). This way of dealing with parliamentary debates is a completely new concept in Jordan. The programmes target a young audience in a country where the large majority of citizens are under 35 years old.

Each episode begins with an interview with an MP on “Facebook live”. A WhatsApp and Telegram number is provided to the audience to collate questions and comments in advance of the interview. Reports and vox pops are integrated into an episode before being put online. The episodes are also broadcast on the radio, in Amman (Radio Al Balad), in the south (Sawt Al Karak) and in the north of the country (Sawt Al Janoub).

Nine programmes were broadcast in 2018 and the audience is growing with each new episode. The episode dedicated to assessment of the performance of MPs in the extraordinary session, broadcast on 11 October, was particularly successful, with 15,000 views of the interview on Facebook and more than 2,000 shares. This result demonstrates the interest of the Jordanian public in quality journalistic productions on parliamentary life in their country.

 

Photo gallery

  • EU-JDID

    Political journalism training course – April 2018

  • EU-JDID

    Political journalism training course – March 2018

  • EU-JDID

    A training course for trainers on leadership skills and handling elections – January 2018

  • EU-JDID

    A training course for trainers on leadership skills and handling elections – January 2018

  • EU-JDID

    Political journalism training course – March 2018

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

Digital East

The use of online media is growing rapidly in Lebanon and it is essential for the written press to develop their digital output in order to maintain the link with their readership. Between 2016 and […]

YMER

Yemen is now facing a serious humanitarian crisis: two thirds of the population are in need of aid, half of whom are in a state of extreme emergency. In response to this situation, CFI has […]

EcoMedias

Since the protests in Burkina Faso in 2014, the citizens aspire to greater transparency from their leaders. However, the forms of action for participating in public life are still obscure and the media, in turn, […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

EU-JDID

EU support to Jordan Democratic Institutions & Development

Encourager une couverture plus professionnelle de l’actualité politique, parlementaire et électorale

Calendrier : juin 2017 – mai 2021 / Budget global : 1,6 M€


La Jordanie a mené, dans le sillage des Printemps arabes, une série de réformes constitutionnelles et politiques visant à construire une « démocratie dynamique ». Dans la lignée de sa stratégie pour la promotion de l’État de droit, l’Union européenne (UE) a lancé un programme de soutien à ce processus, le projet JDID, qui signifie nouveau en arabe.

Le volet médias de JDID, mis en œuvre par CFI, inclut la formation de journalistes politiques, mais également la sensibilisation de parlementaires à la communication avec les médias. Entre mars et octobre 2018, un cycle de formations au journalisme politique, comprenant huit sessions de cinq jours, a réuni 68 journalistes à Amman. La moitié d’entre eux étaient des femmes, dont 54% de moins de 35 ans.

Les participants ont pu s’exercer à l’interview politique en conditions réelles auprès de personnalités invitées dans le cadre de conférences de presse. Tous ont souligné les défis liés à la profession de journaliste en Jordanie. Certains ont déclaré que cette semaine de formation leur avait fait gagner confiance en eux.

La formation m’a rendu attentive à la crédibilité, à l’objectivité, à la neutralité et au fait de consulter au moins trois sources. J’ai appris comment utiliser des chiffres et les analyser, choisir des experts et bien présenter le contexte, afin que le lecteur reçoive le bon message », a confié une participante.

Un programme audio novateur diffusé sur les réseaux sociaux

« Le Parlement », un programme audio créé par Sowt, une jeune société jordanienne de podcasts, a aussi été lancé en septembre pour être diffusé sur divers canaux (réseaux sociaux, plateformes de podcasts, radios traditionnelles). Cette manière d’aborder les débats parlementaires est totalement nouvelle en Jordanie. Les émissions ciblent un public jeune, dans un pays qui compte une large majorité de citoyens de moins de 35 ans.

Chaque épisode propose d’abord l’interview d’un député en « Facebook live ». Un numéro sur Whatsapp et Telegram est mis à la disposition du public pour recueillir questions et commentaires avant l’entretien. Des reportages et micros-trottoirs sont intégrés avant la mise en ligne. Les épisodes sont également diffusés à la radio, à Amman (Radio Al Balad), dans le sud (Sawt Al Karak) et dans le nord du pays (Sawt Al Janoub).

Neuf émissions ont été diffusées en 2018 et l’audience croît à chaque nouvel épisode. Celui consacré au bilan sur la performance des députés à la session extraordinaire, diffusé le 11 octobre, a rencontré un succès particulier, avec 15 000 vues de l’interview sur Facebook et plus de 2 000 partages. Ce résultat montre l’intérêt du public jordanien pour les productions journalistiques de qualité sur la vie parlementaire du pays.

Galerie photos

  • EU-JDID

    Formation au journalisme politique – Avril 2018

  • EU-JDID

    Formation au journalisme politique – Mars 2018

  • EU-JDID

    Formation de formateurs sur les compétences en leadership et en gestion électorale – Janvier 2018

  • EU-JDID

    Formation de formateurs sur les compétences en leadership et en gestion électorale – Janvier 2018

  • EU-JDID

    Formation au journalisme politique – Mars 2018

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

Orient numérique

L’utilisation des médias en ligne s’accroit rapidement au Liban et il est vital pour les médias de presse écrite de développer leur offre numérique pour conserver le lien avec leur lectorat. Entre 2016 et 2018, […]

D-JIL

Créer des programmes numériques innovants et originaux, reflétant les enjeux auxquels les jeunes s’intéressent, constitue aujourd’hui une priorité pour les médias du monde arabe. De nombreuses études sur la jeunesse dans cette région montrent également […]

EcoMédias

Depuis les manifestations de 2014 au Burkina Faso, les citoyens aspirent à une plus grande transparence de leurs dirigeants. Cependant les modalités d’action pour participer à la vie publique sont encore méconnues et les médias, […]