FR

Hal Media

Towards positive information in Palestine

The news coverage offered by the media in Palestine is currently only a partial response to the expectations of young people. If they are to re-engage with this audience, the media have to change the way they produce information in order to offer more inspiring and constructive content.

Timetable

July 2018 - October 2020

Total budget

€315,000

Digital Environment Gender equality Social cohesion Young people

The Hal Media* project encourages the development of solutions journalism in Palestine’s national, local and online media. It contributes to the creation of positive and stimulating content that is more specifically aimed at young people and women about the key issues affecting them (employment, education, health, etc.).

In 2019, CFI worked with local partners to provide training for 35 journalists, mentoring for five editorial teams and production of 17 videos in the West Bank and Gaza. Thanks to this, and with support from Birzeit University, two workshops were organised (one for 12 experienced journalists and the other for 10 beginners) in order to learn more about the concept of solutions journalism and the positive impact it can have on communities.

Content produced on mobile phones and broadcast on social media

In May, in Gaza, 13 young people also learned how to use their mobile phones to create videos and broadcast them quickly and efficiently, in particular on social media. These young people, from Jenin, Tulkarm and even Hebron, then produced a series of 17 videos based around constructive topics aimed at young people together with the NGO Sharek Youth Forum.

Solutions journalism is an innovative approach and adds real value for covering news stories.”. Ahmad Abu Toul, student at the University of Jenin

Lastly, experts provided support for five editorial offices to help them further integrate solutions journalism into their content. The subjects chosen by the journalists included: access to education for sick and hospitalised children, access to clean drinking water in schools, prison conditions, access to free educational content (MOOCs, English language courses, etc.), combating violence against women, etc.

These articles can allow readers to think differently and help them in concrete terms.” WWalaa Shamali from the daily newspaper Al-Hayat al-Jadida

* “Hal” means “solution” in Arabic


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

Hal Media

Pour une information positive en Palestine

Le traitement de l’actualité proposé par les médias palestiniens ne répond que partiellement aux attentes de la jeunesse. Pour renouer avec ces publics, ils doivent changer leur manière de produire de l’information, pour offrir davantage de contenus inspirants et constructifs.

Calendrier

Juillet 2018 - octobre 2020

Budget global

315 K€

Cohésion sociale Egalité homme femmes Environnement Jeunesse Numérique

Le projet Hal Media* encourage le développement du journalisme de solutions dans les médias palestiniens nationaux, locaux et en ligne. Il contribue à la création de contenus positifs et stimulants plus spécifiquement destinés aux jeunes et aux femmes, sur des sujets qui les concernent en priorité (emploi, éducation, santé…).

En 2019, CFI a travaillé avec des partenaires locaux pour assurer la formation de 35 journalistes, le tutorat de cinq rédactions et la production de 17 vidéos, en Cisjordanie mais également à Gaza. Ainsi, avec l’appui de l’université de Birzeit, deux ateliers ont été organisés, l’un pour douze journalistes expérimentés et l’autre pour dix débutants, afin de découvrir plus en détails le concept du journalisme de solutions et l’impact positif qu’il peut avoir sur les communautés.

Des contenus produits sur mobiles et diffusés sur les réseaux sociaux

A Gaza en mai, treize jeunes ont aussi appris à utiliser leurs téléphones portables pour réaliser des vidéos et les diffuser de manière rapide et efficace, notamment sur les réseaux sociaux. Venus de Jénine, Tulkarem ou encore Hébron, ils ont ensuite produit avec l’ONG Sharek Youth Forum, une série de 17 vidéos autour de sujets constructifs pour les jeunes.

Le journalisme de solutions est une approche innovante et une vraie plus-value pour traiter l’actualité ». Ahmad Abu Toul, étudiant de l’université de Jénine

Enfin, des experts ont accompagné cinq rédactions pour intégrer davantage de journalisme de solutions dans leurs contenus. Parmi les sujets retenus par les journalistes : l’accès à l’éducation pour les enfants malades et hospitalisés, l’accès à l’eau potable dans les écoles, les conditions d’emprisonnement, l’accès à des contenus éducatifs gratuits (mooc, cours d’anglais…), la lutte contre les violences envers les femmes…

Ces articles peuvent permettre aux lecteurs de penser différemment et de les aider concrètement ». Walaa Shamali du quotidien Al-Hayat al-Jadida

* « Hal » signifie « solution » en arabe


Autres projets menés en 2019