FR

RightsInfo

Promoting public debate on human rights through the media

Mauritania has ratified the main African human rights treaties and is working to transpose its international commitments into its legislation and into its national strategies and policies. In 2019, CFI committed to help journalists to cover their stories in the field.

Timetable

June 2019 - March 2020

Total budget

€200,000

Democratic governance Gender equality Social cohesion The French-speaking world

While significant progress has been made over the last few years in the fight against poverty, the United Nations Special Rapporteur on extreme poverty and human rights made a series of recommendations in his 2017 report with the aim of achieving better application of human rights in Mauritania. National and international NGOs, including Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International and the FIDH (International Federation for Human Rights), are concerned about recent human rights abuses and called for vigilance.

Journalism as a tool for raising awareness of human rights

In order to support journalists in their commitment to promote human rights and to combat stereotypes and discriminatory practices in society, the “Promotion of Human Rights and Dialogue on Human Rights” (PDDH) project implemented by the GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) has been providing training on human rights journalism for numerous Mauritanian journalists from public and private media outlets since 2015. In 2019, the PDDH project tasked CFI with designing and organising educational support for the media in the Assaba and Gorgol regions, and neighbouring regions, and thus the InfoRights project was born.

Initially, eight experienced Mauritanian journalists were introduced to training techniques and matters associated with human rights. Five of them have since formed a team that specialises in journalistic coverage of this subject, in Arabic and French.

Then, in November 2019, 37 journalists from Assaba and Gorgol travelled to the regional capitals of Kaédi and Kiffapour, where they participated in a course to raise their awareness of the main human rights issues in their regions and of the current legislative texts and took part in a training session on journalistic techniques to cover these subjects. Of these journalists, 26 will participate in an advanced training course in 2020.

Journalists do not give enough coverage to victims of human rights infringements. Sometimes, we do not see the victims. We have taught them to recognise and cover the stories of these victims. The debates between the journalists, which are sometimes lively, have shown their interest in these subjects. » Mohamed El Hani, InfoRights project coordinator


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

InfosDroits

Promouvoir le débat public sur les droits humains à travers les médias

La Mauritanie a ratifié les principaux traités africains sur les droits humains et s’emploie à traduire ses engagements internationaux dans sa législation et dans ses stratégies et politiques nationales. Sur le terrain, en 2019, CFI s’est engagé à accompagner les journalistes à traiter ses thématiques.

Calendrier

Juin 2019 - mars 2020

Budget global

200 K€

Cohésion sociale Egalité homme femmes Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique

Si des progrès notables dans la lutte contre la pauvreté ont été réalisés ces dernières années, le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur les droits de l’Homme et l’extrême pauvreté a dressé, dans son rapport de 2017, une série de recommandations visant une meilleure application des droits humains en Mauritanie. Les ONG nationales et internationales, telles que Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International ou la FIDH (Fédération internationale pour les droits humains), se sont inquiétées quant à elles de dérives récentes et ont appelé à la vigilance.

Le journalisme comme outil de sensibilisation aux droits humains

Afin d’épauler les journalistes dans leur engagement pour les droits humains et contre les stéréotypes et les pratiques discriminatoires dans la société, le projet « Promotion des Droits Humains et Dialogue sur les Droits Humains » (PDDH) mis en œuvre par la GIZ, a formé depuis 2015 de nombreux journalistes mauritaniens des médias publics et privés au journalisme sur les droits humains. Le PDDH a confié en 2019 à CFI la conception et l’organisation d’un accompagnement pédagogique des médias des régions de l’Assaba et du Gorgol, et des régions avoisinantes ; c’est ainsi qu’est né le projet InfosDroits.

Tout d’abord, huit journalistes mauritaniens expérimentés ont été initiés aux techniques de formation et aux questions liées aux droits humains. Cinq d’entre eux constituent désormais une équipe spécialisée dans le traitement journalistique de cette thématique, en arabe et en français.

Puis, en novembre 2019, 37 journalistes venant de l’Assaba et du Gorgol se sont rendus dans les capitales régionales de Kaédi et de Kiffapour, afin d’être  sensibilisés aux principaux enjeux des droits humains dans leurs régions et aux textes de lois existant, et formés aux techniques journalistiques pour traiter de ces sujets. Parmi eux, 26 journalistes participeront à une formation avancée en 2020.

Les journalistes n’abordent pas assez la question des victimes d’atteintes aux droits humains. Parfois, on ne les voit pas. Nous leur avons appris à voir et à traiter la parole de ces victimes. Les débats, parfois vifs, entre les journalistes, ont montré leur intérêt pour ces thématiques. » Mohamed El Hani, coordinateur du projet InfosDroits


Autres projets menés en 2019