Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

Digital Readings

Supporting four French-language media outlets in Lebanon in their development

Calendrier : June 2017 – May 2019 / Budget global : €130,000


In Lebanon, despite facing significant economic difficulties, the French-language press is appreciated by many Lebanese people who still feel an attachment to France and the French language. This context is favourable to the development of a French-language editorial output produced in the country.

The Lectures numériques (Digital Readings) project supports four French-language Lebanese media organisations, selected after a call for applications, in structuring and modernising their content, in order to widen their audience:

  • Assafir Al-Arabi, a digital platform, in Arabic, French and English, that offers an independent publishing space for journalists, researchers, artists and writers from the Arab world, with an Arabic-speaking regional audience and a non-Arabic-speaking international audience;
  • Le Commerce du Levant, a French-language economic news website aimed at the Lebanese public and the diaspora;
  • Magazine, a French-language economic, political and social news website aimed at the Lebanese public and the diaspora.
  • YomKom, a news website for 15- to 18-year-olds, in Arabic and French, launched in November 2018, already supported by Digital East, has also joined the project.

Faced with the economic crisis, the French-language media in Lebanon have a great capacity for resilience, as there is a large reservoir of potential French-speaking readers.”
Paul Khalife, Chief Editor of Magazine

Enhancing the use of social networks

The project defined a programme for individualised support for each of the media outlets in order to create and develop new digital output and to enhance the strategic, editorial, technical, marketing and economics skills of the teams. Accordingly, Assafir Al Arabi has significantly increased its content in French originally published in Arabic, YomKom has consolidated its output, Le Commerce du Levant has launched its newsletter and the editorial team at Magazine has enhanced its digital skills. For all of these media outlets, the emphasis has been placed on the development of the use of social networks, through the use of videos, podcasts and data visualisation. 

This project builds on the objectives of Digital East and has already helped around fifty employees, 85% of whom were women.

Starting from the experiences of other media organisations and those of the CFI experts, we have analysed the points to be developed and improved upon. This has given us new ideas in relation to digital technology and for developing our financial model.” 
Nahla Chahal, director of publications of Assafir Al Arabi

Playlist, 7 videos

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

Tasalah

In Iraq, supporting and strengthening dialogue between the various stakeholders in the reconciliation process is vital. The media play a major role in this respect, as they can constitute either a tool to help achieve […]

EcoMedias

Since the protests in Burkina Faso in 2014, the citizens aspire to greater transparency from their leaders. However, the forms of action for participating in public life are still obscure and the media, in turn, […]

Qudra

For almost three years, CFI has been managing the media component of the European Qudra programme – led by the GIZ, in partnership with Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

Lectures Numériques

Accompagner quatre médias francophones libanais dans leur développement

Calendrier : juin 2017 – mai 2019 / Budget global : 130 K€


Au Liban, la presse francophone, même si elle connaît d’importantes difficultés économiques, est appréciée par de nombreux Libanais qui gardent un attachement envers la France et la langue française. Ce contexte est favorable au développement d’une offre éditoriale francophone produite dans le pays.

Le projet Lectures numériques accompagne quatre médias francophones libanais, sélectionnés après un appel à candidatures, dans la structuration et la modernisation de leur offre, afin d’élargir leur audience :

  • Assafir Al-Arabi, plateforme numérique en arabe, en français et en anglais, qui offre un espace de publication indépendant pour les journalistes, chercheurs, artistes et écrivains du monde arabe, avec une audience régionale arabophone et internationale non arabophone ;
  • Le Commerce du Levant, site d’information économique francophone destiné au public libanais et à la diaspora ;
  • Magazine, site francophone sur l’actualité économique, politique et sociale destiné au public libanais et à la diaspora.
  • Yomkom, site d’information pour les 15-18 ans en arabe et en français lancé en novembre 2018, déjà appuyé par Orient numérique, s’est également joint au projet.

Face à la crise économique, les médias libanais francophones ont une capacité de résilience, car il existe un grand réservoir de lecteurs potentiels francophones. »
Paul Khalife, rédacteur en chef de Magazine

Renforcer l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux

Le projet a défini un programme d’accompagnement individualisé pour chacun des médias, afin d’imaginer et de développer de nouvelles offres numériques et de renforcer les compétences stratégiques, éditoriales, techniques, marketing et économiques des équipes. Ainsi, Assafir Al Arabi a augmenté de manière significative ses contenus en français initialement publiés en arabe, Yomkom a consolidé son offre, Le Commerce du Levant a lancé sa newsletter et la rédaction de Magazine a renforcé ses compétences numériques. Pour tous ces médias, l’accent a été mis sur le développement de l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux, grâce à la vidéo, au podcast et à la data visualisation. 

Ce projet s’est inscrit dans la continuité des objectifs d’Orient numérique et a déjà bénéficié à une cinquantaine de collaborateurs dont 85% de femmes.

En partant de l’expérience des autres médias et de celle des experts de CFI, nous avons analysé les points à développer et à améliorer. Cela nous a donné de nouvelles idées en matière de numérique et pour développer notre modèle économique. »
Nahla Chahal, directrice de publication d’Assafir Al Arabi

Playlist, 7 vidéos

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

Médias 360°

Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques […]

EU-JDID

La Jordanie a mené, dans le sillage des Printemps arabes, une série de réformes constitutionnelles et politiques visant à construire une « démocratie dynamique ». Dans la lignée de sa stratégie pour la promotion de l’État de […]

Orient numérique

L’utilisation des médias en ligne s’accroit rapidement au Liban et il est vital pour les médias de presse écrite de développer leur offre numérique pour conserver le lien avec leur lectorat. Entre 2016 et 2018, […]