Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

Media 360°

Promoting synergies between media outlets and social networks in French speaking Africa

Calendrier : July 2017- September 2018 / Budget global : €600,000


Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in order to provide more interaction with their public and possibly new sources of monetisation.

For 18 months, Media 360° supported 15 African media outlets – from Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville, Benin, Burkina Faso, Madagascar, Mauritania, Niger and DRC – in the development of new editorial strategies on social networks. In 2018, each editorial team received custom on-site support from an expert who made recommendations tailored to the ambitions and requirements of each media organisation for social networks.

With the production and publication of texts, photos, videos and audio during the training week, the radio station immediately provoked reactions from its followers on Facebook. It is clear that there is a high demand for original content in the local language”.
Robert Bourgoing, journalist and CFI expert.

Statistical analysis of the presence on social networks

In October 2018, the closing seminar of the project brought together all of the participants to share experiences and take stock. The journalists were able to gain deeper knowledge on subjects of their choice, such as web writing, visualisation, verification of information or mobile video, whilst the managers of fifteen media outlets followed a training course on the statistical analysis of the presence on social networks. In total, 47 journalists and media managers were trained in 2018.

At the end of this support, the team from Radio Mampita, for example, noted an increase of 316% in “Likes” on its Facebook page, with a total range of 33,983 people reached by its publications every month. The general assessment of the fifteen media outlets, established on the basis of audience and engagement indicators, also led the managers to reflect on a road map for the future. The sharing continues via the exchange groups launched by the beneficiaries.

“Thanks to Media 360°, we have gained a better understamding of the need to produce content on social networks, but also how to use these networks to improve our reputation and to bring us closer to our community”.
Nyemba Godelive, chief editor of the magazine La Guardia in Lubumbashi (DRC)

 

Photo gallery

  • Media 360°

    Training course on mobile journalism - Dakar (Senegal) - October 2018

  • Media 360°

    Training course on mobile journalism - Dakar (Senegal) - October 2018

  • Media 360°

    Training course on mobile journalism - Dakar (Senegal) - October 2018

  • Media 360°

    Second “Facebook live” training session - Dakar (Senegal) - March 2018

  • Media 360°

    Conclusion of the project in Dakar (Senegal) – October 2018

  • Media 360°

    Fact Checking workshop - Dakar (Senegal) - October 2018

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

D-JIL

The creation of innovative and original digital programmes, reflecting the issues that young people are interested in, is a top priority these days for media outlets in the Arab world. Numerous studies in this region […]

Tasalah

In Iraq, supporting and strengthening dialogue between the various stakeholders in the reconciliation process is vital. The media play a major role in this respect, as they can constitute either a tool to help achieve […]

4M Asia

After four years providing support to online media outlets in seven countries in South-East Asia, the 4M Asia project came to an end in April 2018. The closing forum, which took place in Jakarta (Indonesia), […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

Médias 360°

Favoriser les synergies entre les médias et les réseaux sociaux en Afrique francophone

Calendrier : juillet 2017 - septembre 2018 / Budget global : 600 K€


Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques pour offrir plus d’interactivité avec leurs publics et, éventuellement, de nouvelles sources de monétisation.

Médias 360° a accompagné, durant dix-huit mois, 15 médias africains – du Cameroun, du Congo, du Bénin, du Burkina Faso, de Madagascar, de Mauritanie, du Niger et de RDC – dans le développement de nouvelles stratégies éditoriales sur les réseaux sociaux. En 2018, chaque rédaction a bénéficié in situ d’un appui sur mesure par un expert qui a proposé des recommandations adaptées aux ambitions et besoins de chaque média pour les réseaux sociaux.

Avec la production et la publication de textes, photos, vidéos et sons durant la semaine de formation, la radio a immédiatement suscité les réactions de ses abonnés sur Facebook. Il est clair que ceux-ci sont très demandeurs de contenus originaux en langue locale ».
Robert Bourgoing, journaliste et expert CFI

Analyse statistique de la présence sur les réseaux sociaux

En octobre 2018, le séminaire de clôture du projet a réuni l’ensemble des participants pour échanger et dresser un bilan. Les journalistes ont pu approfondir leurs connaissances sur des thématiques de leur choix, comme l’écriture web, la visualisation, la vérification des informations ou la vidéo mobile, tandis que les dirigeants des quinze médias ont suivi une formation sur l’analyse statistique de la présence sur les réseaux sociaux. Au total, 47 journalistes et dirigeants de médias ont été formés en 2018.

A l’issue de cet accompagnement, l’équipe de Radio Mampita, par exemple,  a constaté une progression en un an de 316% des « J’aime » sur sa page Facebook, avec une portée totale de 33 983 personnes touchées par ses publications chaque mois. Le bilan général des quinze médias, établi sur la base d’indicateurs d’audience et d’engagement, a aussi amené les dirigeants à réfléchir à une feuille de route pour la suite. A travers les groupes d’échanges lancés par les bénéficiaires, le partage continue.

Grâce à Médias 360°, nous avons mieux compris la nécessité de produire sur les réseaux sociaux, mais également comment utiliser ces réseaux pour améliorer notre notoriété et pour nous rapprocher de notre communauté ».
Nyemba Godelive, rédactrice en chef du magazine La Guardia à Lubumbashi (RDC)

Galerie photos

  • Médias 360°

    Formation au journalisme mobile - Dakar (Sénégal) - Octobre 2018

  • Médias 360°

    Formation au journalisme mobile - Dakar (Sénégal) - Octobre 2018

  • Médias 360°

    Formation au journalisme mobile - Dakar (Sénégal) - Octobre 2018

  • Médias 360°

    2ème session à la formation par la réalisation d'un Facebook live - Dakar (Sénégal) - Mars 2018

  • Médias 360°

    Clôture du projet à Dakar (Sénégal) – Octobre 2018

  • Médias 360°

    Atelier de Fact Checking - Dakar (Sénégal) - Octobre 2018

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

PAGOF

La participation au PGO (Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert) des pays d’Afrique francophone est encore limitée, mais le processus suscite de plus en plus d’intérêt. Dans ces pays, les médias traditionnels comme les médias en […]

EcoMédias

Depuis les manifestations de 2014 au Burkina Faso, les citoyens aspirent à une plus grande transparence de leurs dirigeants. Cependant les modalités d’action pour participer à la vie publique sont encore méconnues et les médias, […]

YMER

Le Yémen est aujourd’hui confronté à une grave crise humanitaire : les deux tiers de la population ont besoin d’aide, dont la moitié se trouve dans une urgence absolue. Face à cette situation, CFI s’est […]