FR

Mekong sustainable news

Promoting a form of journalism that will contribute to sustainable development in the Mekong region.

Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Myanmar are some of the countries most affected by climate change, loss of biodiversity and pollution. Faced with these threats, the work carried out by journalists is absolutely critical.

Timetable

April 2019- December 2020

Total budget

€800,000

Democratic governance Digital Environment Social cohesion Young people

Launched in April 2019, Mekong Sustainable News, which is helping to improve how scientific news topics are processed in the Mekong region, really took off during the summer. In the four countries involved in this project, the political contexts and those surrounding freedom of the press are strained, with the situation constantly deteriorating. Writing reports on sustainable development can prove difficult as it potentially involved criticising the action or inaction of the ruling governments.

With the help of local partners, CFI has set up 17 training courses, six training courses for trainers and a constant mentoring programme for online and environmental journalistic writing. In total, 171 beneficiaries deepened their knowledge of subjects such as pollution and impacts on health and improved their skills in data journalism, using infographics or even video.

Adapting behaviour to climate change

Changes are already evident in the investigations published, which include a plethora of sources and the use of different media (photos, texts, videos). These publications therefore make it possible to inform local populations and political decision-makers in a more efficient way, with a view to adapting behaviour to the impacts of the environmental upheaval.

I took part in this training course because I mainly work on environmental subjects. We journalists need to raise awareness of the impacts of plastic pollution among the public in order to stop its use. I’d like to thank CFI for this training course and I hope that there will be others, especially one covering air pollution.” Ma Khin Khin Htay, journalist at MNTV (Myanmar)


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

Mékong Info durable

Promouvoir un journalisme contribuant au développement durable dans la région du Mékong

Le Vietnam, le Cambodge, le Laos et la Birmanie font partie des pays les plus impactés par le changement climatique, la perte de la biodiversité et la pollution. Face à ces menaces, le travail des journalistes est primordial.

Calendrier

Avril 2019 - décembre 2020

Budget global

800 K€

Cohésion sociale Environnement Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse Numérique

Lancé en avril 2019, Mekong info durable, qui contribue à développer le traitement de sujets d’actualité scientifique dans la région du Mékong, a pris toute son ampleur durant l’été. Dans les quatre pays concernés par ce projet, les contextes politiques et de liberté de la presse sont tendus, et la situation se détériore continuellement. L’écriture de sujets sur le développement durable peut se révéler difficile car potentiellement critique de l’action ou de l’inaction des gouvernements en place.

Avec l’aide de ses partenaires locaux, CFI a mis en œuvre dix-sept formations, six formations de formateurs et un tutorat constant dans les domaines de l’écriture journalistique en ligne et de l’environnement. Au total, 171 bénéficiaires ont approfondi leurs connaissances sur des sujets tels que la pollution et ses impacts sur la santé, et amélioré leurs compétences dans le domaine du journalisme de données, l’utilisation d’infographies ou encore la vidéo.

Adapter les comportements aux évolutions climatiques

Des changements sont déjà visibles dans les enquêtes publiées, qui intègrent une plus grande multiplicité de sources et l’utilisation de différents médias (photos, textes, vidéos). Ces publications permettent ainsi une meilleure information des populations locales et des décideurs politiques, afin d’adapter les comportements aux impacts des bouleversements environnementaux.

J’ai rejoint cette formation car je travaille principalement sur des sujets environnementaux. Il est nécessaire que nous, journalistes, sensibilisions la population aux impacts de la pollution au plastique, afin qu’elle stoppe son usage. Je remercie CFI pour cette formation et j’espère en avoir d’autres, notamment sur la pollution de l’air. » Ma Khin Khin Htay, journaliste à MNTV (Birmanie)


Autres projets menés en 2019