Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Naila

The New Players in African Online News

Calendrier : September 2017 – February 2019 / Budget global : €650,000


The internet has completely redefined the conditions for producing and processing information and, moreover, the journalistic working methods of editorial teams. While the majority of the large traditional media organisations have made the move towards innovation and adapted their online news content offering, other players that are based solely online – pure players – have found their place within the West African media space.

The Naila project supported eleven pure players from French-speaking Africa, selected on the basis of a call for applications, in structuring their economic and editorial models in line with the professional and commercial issues of their online content offering. It also supported the development of innovations within the editorial departments in order to offer new ways of producing information.

Diversifying the content offering

Launched in September 2017 during a seminar in Dakar (Senegal), Naila brought thirty young chief editors and journalists, a third of whom were women, together with digital media experts from Africa and Europe. A few weeks later, a workshop focused on understanding the market, the competitive environment and the needs of users.  These new players in online news also conceived and developed new columns in order to diversify their content offering and attract specific advertisers. The project continued by enhancing skills in writing for the internet. The spotlight was also placed on hypothetical reporting and investigative techniques, in order to encourage the media outlets to conduct investigations on cross-cutting topics developed in synergy.

In light of the difficulties that we are facing, the Naila project is helping us to think about our editorial lines, about innovative initiatives that we are able to implement, the content that we offer and new emerging concepts, such as solutions journalism. These 18 months of support will most certainly provide us with an additional basis on which to develop more projects within our editorial departments.
Anderson Diedri, journalist at E Burnie Today (Ivory Coast)

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Naseej

Diversity awareness is a major political challenge nowadays. The media, via high-quality and professional news, plays a key role in fostering conditions favourable to dialogue. From February to October 2017, the Naseej project – ‘Naseej’ […]

Recovery and stabilisation in CAR

In the Central African Republic (CAR), in a political and security climate that is still very unstable, CFI is focusing its action on strengthening social cohesion and “living together in harmony”, via the media component […]

Qudra

In 2016, CFI was entrusted with the media component of the Qudra project – a programme led by Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which ensures the collection and dissemination of […]

Menu
Rechercher

Naila

Soutenir les Nouveaux Acteurs de l’Information en Ligne Africains

Calendrier : Septembre 2017 – Février 2019 / Budget global : 650 K€


L’internet a redéfini en profondeur les conditions de production, de traitement de l’information et, au-delà, les méthodes de travail journalistique des rédactions. Si la majorité des grands médias traditionnels ont pris le virage de l’innovation et ont adapté leur offre de contenu d’actualité en ligne, d’autres acteurs exclusivement numériques, les pure players, ont fait leur place au sein de l’espace médiatique ouest-africain.

Le projet Naila a accompagné onze pure players d’Afrique francophone, sélectionnés sur appel à candidatures, dans la structuration de leurs modèles économique et éditorial, en phase avec les enjeux professionnels et commerciaux de l’offre de contenus sur l’internet. Il a aussi appuyé le développement d’innovations au sein des rédactions, afin d’offrir de nouvelles modalités de construction de l’information.

Diversifier l’offre de contenus

Lancé en septembre 2017 lors d’un séminaire à Dakar (Sénégal) Naila a réuni trente jeunes rédacteurs en chef et journalistes, dont un tiers de femmes avec des experts en médias numériques venus d’Afrique et d’Europe. Quelques semaines plus tard, un atelier a été consacré à la compréhension du marché, de l’environnement concurrentiel et des besoins des utilisateurs. Ces nouveaux acteurs de l’information en ligne ont aussi imaginé et développé de nouvelles rubriques pour diversifier leur offre de contenus et intéresser des annonceurs spécifiques. Le projet s’est poursuivi par un renforcement à l’écriture pour le web. L’accent a également été mis sur les techniques de reportage et d’investigation par hypothèse, afin d’encourager les médias à produire des enquêtes sur des sujets transversaux, développés en synergie.

Face aux difficultés que nous rencontrons, le projet Naila nous aide à réfléchir à nos lignes éditoriales, aux initiatives innovantes que nous sommes capables de mettre en place, aux contenus que nous proposons et aux nouveaux concepts émergents, comme le journalisme de solution. Ces dix-huit mois d’accompagnement nous donneront très certainement une assise supplémentaire pour développer davantage de projets au sein de nos rédactions.
Anderson Diedri, journaliste à E Burnie Today (Côte d’Ivoire)

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Open Data Médias 2

Malgré des avancées récentes, les journalistes d’Afrique francophone manquent encore de compétences pour faire des données ouvertes un outil clef de la redevabilité et du contrôle citoyen de l’action publique dans leurs pays. Open Data […]

Appui aux médias jordaniens

En 2016, le bureau de l’UNESCO en Jordanie a confié à CFI la mise en œuvre d’un volet du programme d’aide aux médias financé par l’Union Européenne. Ce projet, orienté vers la formation initiale au […]

Médias 360°

Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques […]