Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Naseej

Diversity addressed by the media in the Middle East

Calendrier : December 2016 – December 2017 / Budget global : €290,000


Diversity awareness is a major political challenge nowadays. The media, via high-quality and professional news, plays a key role in fostering conditions favourable to dialogue.

From February to October 2017, the Naseej project – ‘Naseej’ meaning ‘weaving’ in Arabic – looked into the way in which the media deals with religious and ethnic issues, in order to contribute to maintaining a balanced debate and diffusing inter-community and inter-faith tension in Syria, Iraq and Lebanon.

Carried out in partnership with the Adyan Foundation, the project began with an appraisal of how diversity-related issues are currently being dealt with in 33 Lebanese, Iraqi and Syrian media outlets. This consisted in cataloguing the articles and reports dealing directly or indirectly with this subject, in order to analyse their content in terms of terminology, lexical field, cultural references or stereotypes. This study was used as the basis for three workshops run with journalists and chief editors in partnership with the SKeyes Center of Lebanon (Samir Kassir Foundation).

Via these workshops, the Iraqi, Lebanese and Syrian media outlets were made aware of the issue of ethnic and religious pluralism in a personalised manner. Targeting the chief editors and influential journalists, the objective was to ensure that the recommendations made in the study are taken into account in future editorial content produced by these media outlets. The participants also highlighted the importance of this subject.

In the context of everyday life, we don’t think about the repercussions of our work on society. Sharing experiences is vital and this study enabled us to become aware of the stumbling blocks that are to be avoided if we don’t want to add fuel to the fire.
Montadhar Naser Khadem, chief editor of Alaam Al Jadid (Iraq)

A prize awarded to the best articles on diversity

In order to promote the production of content, the Naseej Price was awarded to an article or report on the issue of ethnic and religious pluralism in the three countries concerned. Among the 45 articles received, the top prize was awarded to Safaa Khalaf, an Iraqi journalist in exile in Beirut due to death threats in her own country, for an article on Mosul, published in Assafir Al Arabi. The second prize was awarded to the Egyptian journalist Souad Abo Ghazey for an article published in Akad News, which looks at the reintegration of Yazidi women who had been held captive by Daesh. In order to ensure widespread distribution, the best ten articles were published in Arabic, French and English on the CFI website and relayed on social networks.

The closing event of the project in Beirut brought together over fifty participants, including journalists who were nominees for the Naseej Prize. These fifteen or so journalists come from Iraq, Lebanon, Egypt, Jordan, Tunisia and Morocco. For two days, the participants discussed, with their colleagues and various experts, the influence of regional and sectarian conflicts in the media and how diversity is dealt with.

Photo gallery

  • Naseej

    Clôture du projet à Beyrouth (Liban) – octobre 2017

  • Naseej

    Clôture du projet à Beyrouth (Liban) – octobre 2017

  • Naseej

    Remise du Prix Naseej à Beyrouth (Liban) – octobre 2017

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Hiwar

In a climate of extreme political and economic volatility, Libyan media outlets are struggling to guarantee news pluralism in their country nowadays. Many journalists had to go into exile in order to retain their independence. […]

Qudra

In 2016, CFI was entrusted with the media component of the Qudra project – a programme led by Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which ensures the collection and dissemination of […]

Citizen Connections

The growing need for citizen-led control of public initiatives and the explosion of online media present an unprecedented opportunity for young, committed African people who are innovating in this field. These agents of change still […]

Menu
Rechercher

Naseej

La diversité traitée par les médias du Proche-Orient

Calendrier : Décembre 2016 – Décembre 2017 / Budget global : 290 K€


La prise en compte de la diversité constitue aujourd’hui un enjeu politique majeur. Les médias, à travers une information de qualité et professionnelle, jouent un rôle-clé pour favoriser des conditions propices au dialogue.

De février à octobre 2017, le projet Naseej – qui signifie « tissage » en arabe – s’est intéressé à la manière dont les médias traitent les questions religieuses et ethniques, afin de contribuer à maintenir un débat équilibré et réduire les tensions intercommunautaires et interconfessionnelles en Syrie, en Irak et au Liban.

Le projet a débuté par un état des lieux du traitement actuel des questions liées à la diversité dans 33 médias libanais, irakiens et syriens, effectué en collaboration avec la Fondation Adyan. Il s’agissait de recenser les articles et les reportages traitant directement ou indirectement de ce sujet, pour en analyser ensuite les contenus en termes de terminologie, champ lexical, références culturelles ou stéréotypes. Cette étude a servi de base de travail pour trois ateliers, menés avec des journalistes et rédacteurs en chef, en partenariat avec le centre SKeyes du Liban (Fondation Samir Kassir).

A travers ces ateliers, les médias irakiens, syriens et libanais ont été sensibilisés à la question du pluralisme ethnique et religieux de manière personnalisée. En ciblant les rédacteurs en chefs et journalistes influents, l’objectif était d’assurer la prise en compte des recommandations de l’étude dans les futurs contenus éditoriaux de ces médias. Les participants ont d’ailleurs insisté sur l’importance de cette thématique.

Au quotidien, nous ne pensons pas aux répercussions de notre travail sur la société. L’échange d’expériences est primordial et cette étude nous a permis de nous rendre compte des écueils à éviter si nous ne voulons pas jeter de l’huile sur le feu.
Montadhar Naser Khadem, rédacteur en chef d’Alaam Al Jadid (Irak) 

Un prix pour récompenser les meilleurs articles sur la diversité

Afin de promouvoir la production de contenus, le Prix Naseej a récompensé un article ou reportage sur la question du pluralisme ethnique et religieux dans les trois pays concernés. Parmi les 45 articles reçus, le premier prix a récompensé Safaa Khalaf, journaliste irakien en exil à Beyrouth car menacé de mort dans son pays, pour un article sur Mossoul publié dans Assafir Al Arabi. Le second prix a été décerné à la journaliste égyptienne Souad Abo Ghazey pour un article publié dans Akad News, qui s’interroge sur la réinsertion des femmes yézidies ex-captives de Daech. Afin d’assurer une large diffusion, les dix meilleurs ont été publiés en arabe, en français et anglais sur le site de CFI et relayés sur les réseaux sociaux.

L’événement de clôture du projet à Beyrouth a rassemblé plus d’une cinquantaine de participants, dont des journalistes ayant candidaté au Prix Naseej. Ces derniers étaient une quinzaine en provenance d’Irak, du Liban, d’Égypte, de Jordanie, de Tunisie ou encore du Maroc. Pendant deux jours, les participants ont échangé, avec leurs confrères et des experts, sur l’influence des conflits régionaux et confessionnels dans les médias et le traitement de la diversité.

Galerie photos du projet

  • Naseej

    Clôture du projet à Beyrouth (Liban) – octobre 2017

  • Naseej

    Clôture du projet à Beyrouth (Liban) – octobre 2017

  • Naseej

    Remise du Prix Naseej à Beyrouth (Liban) – octobre 2017

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Ecrire et produire en Afrique

En 2017, CFI a poursuivi son appui à la fiction et à la création africaine à travers plusieurs projets de séries, de la conception du scénario à la réalisation des épisodes. Talents de scripts A […]

Naila

L’internet a redéfini en profondeur les conditions de production, de traitement de l’information et, au-delà, les méthodes de travail journalistique des rédactions. Si la majorité des grands médias traditionnels ont pris le virage de l’innovation […]

Connexions citoyennes

L’exigence croissante d’un contrôle citoyen de l’action publique et l’explosion des médias en ligne constituent une opportunité sans précédent pour les jeunes Africains engagés qui innovent dans ce domaine. Ces acteurs du changement manquent encore […]