Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Open Data Medias 2

Supporting the development of a network of African data activists

Calendrier : July 2017 – December 2018 / Budget global : €600,000


Despite the recent progress, journalists from French-speaking Africa still lack the skills to transform open data into a key tool of accountability and citizen-led control of public initiatives in their countries.

Open Data Media 2 helped to structure an autonomous network of open data activists from twelve African countries. It is essentially based on the network of journalists and civil society organisation leaders in French-speaking Africa who have already been trained in the technical basics and the issues of open data in the context of Open Data Media 1 and who have taken the first steps towards promoting and developing open data in their countries following the OGP Summit (Open Government Partnership) in Paris in 2016. Participants from the Sahel (Niger, Mali and Mauritania) supplemented this group and benefited from a session bringing them up to date.

During the two training courses carried out in 2017, the participants honed their technical skills in collecting, disseminating and promoting open data. Thanks to the acquisition of new tools, they are now capable of taking a critical approach to data and discussing sensitive issues while ensuring that files are transmitted securely. They are also able to extract large quantities of data and feed the Open Data Index (an indicator that lists countries according to the openness of government data) with information regarding their own countries. Finally, they launched projects to set up a database relating to public policies in their countries of origin.

Creating a hub of expertise on open data in Africa

Eventually, this network of “data activists” will constitute a hub of expertise in terms of using and advocating open data, for use by the media, international and local organisations that defend democratic transparency, or the public. They will also be able to support the integration of their country into conventions and conferences involving open data and will constitute the preferred points of dissemination for research and data publication organisations.

Supporting around 20 open data pioneers for investigative or advocacy purposes constitutes a first step towards more effective questioning by civil society on important political, economic, health and environmental issues. By training a vanguard at the forefront of the issue of open data, Open Data Media 2 has created the conditions for constructive dialogue between citizens and the authorities.

I was able to discover the power of data in the practice of investigative journalism, in order to make the subjects investigated more credible. I have now mastered my computer as a comprehensive and effective work tool.
Gaston Sawadogo, beneficiary of ODMedias 2

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Digital East

In view of the growth of online media and changes in the ways in which information is consumed, embracing the digital era has become a key challenge for Lebanon’s French-language press. In 2017, CFI supported […]

4M Asia

Throughout 2017, 4M Asie contributed to the development of twelve data journalism projects and to the strengthening of thirty community media outlets in South-East Asia. Following a call for applications launched in February, twelve data […]

Support for the Jordanian media

In 2016, UNESCO’s office in Jordan entrusted CFI with the implementation of a component of the Support to Media programme which is financed by the European Union. This project, oriented towards initial training within universities […]

Menu
Rechercher

Open Data Médias 2

Soutien à l’émergence d’un réseau de datactivistes africains

Calendrier : Juillet 2017 – Décembre 2018 / Budget global : 600 K€


Malgré des avancées récentes, les journalistes d’Afrique francophone manquent encore de compétences pour faire des données ouvertes un outil clef de la redevabilité et du contrôle citoyen de l’action publique dans leurs pays.

Open Data Medias 2 a accompagné la structuration d’un réseau autonome d’activistes des données ouvertes, issus de douze pays africains. Il s’est fondé essentiellement sur le réseau de journalistes et responsables d’organisations de la société civile d’Afrique francophone déjà formés aux bases techniques et aux enjeux des données ouvertes dans le cadre d’Open Data Médias 1 et qui ont initié des démarches de promotion et développement de l’open data dans leurs pays à la suite du Sommet PGO (Partenariat Pour un Gouvernement Ouvert) de Paris en 2016. Des participants du Sahel (Niger, Mali et Mauritanie) sont venus compléter ce groupe et ont bénéficié d’une session de mise à niveau.

Au cours des deux formations menées en 2017, les participants ont approfondi leurs compétences techniques sur la collecte, la diffusion et la promotion de données ouvertes. Grâce à l’appropriation de nouveaux outils, ils sont désormais capables d’exercer une approche critique des données et d’échanger sur des sujets sensibles en s’assurant de la sécurisation de la transmission des fichiers. Ils sont également en mesure d’extraire des données en grande quantité et d’alimenter l’Open Data Index (indicateur qui liste des pays selon l’ouverture de leurs données publiques) pour leur propre pays. Enfin, ils ont initié des projets de mise en ligne d’une base de données liée aux politiques publiques dans leurs pays d’origine.

Créer un pôle d’expertise de l’open data en Afrique

A terme, le réseau de ces « datactivistes » constituera un pôle d’expertise en matière d’utilisation et de plaidoyer pour l’open data, à l’usage des médias, des organisations internationales et locales de défense de la transparence démocratique ou des populations. Ils seront également en capacité de soutenir l’intégration de leurs pays aux conventions et conférences impliquant les données ouvertes et constitueront des relais de diffusion privilégiés pour les organismes de recherche et de publication des données.

L’accompagnement d’une vingtaine de pionniers de l’open data à des fins d’enquête ou de plaidoyer constitue un premier pas vers un questionnement plus efficace par la société civile sur les grands enjeux politiques, économiques, sanitaires et environnementaux. En formant une avant-garde sur la question des données ouvertes, Open Data Médias 2 a créé les conditions d’un dialogue constructif entre les citoyens et les autorités.

J’ai pu découvrir la puissance des données dans la pratique du journalisme d’investigation, pour rendre les sujets d’enquête plus crédibles. Désormais, je me suis approprié mon ordinateur comme outil de travail complet et efficace.
Gaston Sawadogo, bénéficiaire d’Open Data Médias 2

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

4M Asie

Tout au long de l’année 2017, 4M Asie a contribué au développement de douze projets de datajournalisme ainsi qu’au renforcement de trente médias communautaires d’Asie du Sud-Est. A l’issue d’un appel à candidatures lancé en […]

Qudra

En 2016, CFI s’est vu confier le volet média du projet Qudra – programme mené par Expertise France et majoritairement financé par l’Union Européenne – qui assure la collecte et la diffusion des informations utiles […]

Médias 360°

Les médias traditionnels africains sont aujourd’hui confrontés à une migration de leurs audiences, en particulier des plus jeunes, vers l’internet et les réseaux sociaux. Face à cette réalité, ils doivent rapidement diversifier leurs stratégies numériques […]