FR

Open Data Media 2

17 months of support for the development of a network of African data activists

In 2017 and 2018, CFI provided training to some 20 journalists and civil society organisation members from French-speaking Africa specialising in public use of new technologies on tools for using open data, especially for journalistic purposes. Once the Open Data Media 2 project came to an end, an independent firm was commissioned in 2019 to carry out an evaluation of the project.

Timetable

August 2017 - December 2018

Total budget

€410,000

Democratic governance Digital Gender equality The French-speaking world Young people

Open Data Media 2 follows in the footsteps of projects already launched in Africa in the field of new media and digital innovation, such as Naila or Citizen Connections. Over the course of 17 months, 19 people from 13 countries in French-speaking sub-Saharan Africa received support to become open data professionals.

Among them, five women working as journalists or leaders of civil society organisations participated in workshops to learn how to code and how to create and use databases in order to then use this type of information in their investigative activities. Having impressed with the commitment they showed throughout the project, they have shown great rigour and have gained recognition for their work in their countries of origin.

Creating a network of open data specialists in Africa 

This second edition of Open Data Media can claim to have built a solid and interdependent community of open data professionals who are capable of advocating for advancement towards greater democracy, transparency and better governance in their countries. For any future editions, improvements may be made to the project programme in order to give it a more specific and less theoretical focus, placing greater emphasis on the advocacy that the media and NGOs are calling for.

Correctly processing the data that I can access and cleaning it up requires a huge amount of time. In the past, I often delegated this job to somebody else. With this project, I learned a lot, in particular, how to clean up my data myself using open-source software that costs nothing. All I needed to do was download it and learn how to use it!» Satou Annick Kante, Communications Officer for Social Justice (Côte d’Ivoire)


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

Open Data Médias 2

Dix-sept mois d’appui à l’émergence d’un réseau de datactivistes africains

En 2017 et 2018, CFI a formé une vingtaine de journalistes et membres d’organisations de la société civile d’Afrique francophone, spécialisés dans l’usage citoyen des nouvelles technologies, aux outils d’exploitation des données ouvertes, notamment à des fins journalistiques. Après la clôture d’Open Data Médias 2, son évaluation a été confiée en 2019 à un cabinet extérieur.

Calendrier

août 2017 - décembre 2018

Budget global

410 K€

Egalité homme femmes Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse Numérique

Open Data Médias 2 s’est inscrit dans la continuité de projets déjà initiés en Afrique dans le domaine des nouveaux médias et de l’innovation numérique, comme Naila ou Connexions citoyennes. Durant 17 mois, dix-neuf personnes de treize pays d’Afrique francophone subsaharienne ont été accompagnés pour devenir des professionnels de la donnée ouverte.

Parmi eux, cinq femmes, journalistes ou responsables d’organisations de la société civile, ont suivi des ateliers pour apprendre à coder, à créer des bases de données et à les exploiter, afin d’utiliser ensuite ce type d’informations dans leurs actions d’investigation. Remarquées pour leur engagement tout au long du projet, elles ont fait preuve d’une grande rigueur et leurs travaux ont été reconnues dans leurs pays d’origine.

Créer un réseau de spécialistes de l’open data en Afrique

Cette seconde édition d’Open Data Médias peut se prévaloir d’avoir bâti une communauté solide et solidaire de professionnels des données ouvertes, à même de produire des plaidoyers pour faire avancer leurs pays vers plus de démocratie, de transparence et une meilleure gouvernance. Pour les éventuelles prochaines éditions, des améliorations pourront porter sur le cursus du projet, afin de lui donner une orientation plus concrète et moins théorique, en mettant davantage l’accent sur la production de plaidoyer, réclamé par les médias et ONG.

Traiter correctement les données auxquelles j’ai accès, les ‘‘nettoyer’’, demande énormément de temps. Je déléguais souvent ce travail à quelqu’un d’autre. Avec ce projet, j’ai beaucoup appris. Notamment comment nettoyer moi-même mes données avec des logiciels qui sont non seulement libres, mais aussi gratuits. Il me fallait juste les télécharger et apprendre à les utiliser ! » Satou Annick Kante, chargée de communication pour l’organisation Social Justice (Côte d’Ivoire)


Autres projets menés en 2019