Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

Digital East

New strategies for Lebanon’s French-language media

Calendrier : September 2016 – August 2018 / Budget global : €440,000


In view of the growth of online media and changes in the ways in which information is consumed, embracing the digital era has become a key challenge for Lebanon’s French-language press. In 2017, CFI supported the daily newspaper L’Orient Le Jour and the weekly newspaper for young people, Kel Yom, in their adaptation to digital technology.

For L’Orient Le Jour, the oldest French-language media organisation in Lebanon, the teams worked on several themes. Firstly, they redefined the editorial offering of the paper edition in order to redeploy human resources to the online edition. After this, they improved access to the paid content. Finally, the newspaper sought to develop its relationship with subscribed readers and future subscribers, in particular via a strategy making use of social networks.

Thanks to the mobilisation of around 50 employees (managers, journalists, the marketing and communication team), 80% of whom were women, significant results emerged before the project had even entered the final months of implementation: stabilisation of the decrease in turnover, 3% increase in paper subscriptions, 16% increase in online subscriptions and a 40% increase in traffic on the Le Commerce du Levant website (the press group’s economic editorial offering), amongst other findings. Moreover, the daily newspaper saw an increase in the number of subscribers on social networks (+111% on Facebook, +38% on Twitter and +60% on Instagram). New applications promoting access to the offering were launched, as well as new tools to gain a greater understanding of the readership, ensuring an increase in productivity for the marketing teams.

Our priority is to increase financial resources by ensuring the digital transition of revenue.
Michel Hélou, Executive Director of the L’Orient Le Jour press group

Preventing hate speech

The Lebanese weekly Kel Yom signed up to the ‘Digital East’ project at the end of 2017 in order to launch its website in French and Arabic. Targeted at children aged between 8 and 12, Kel Yom is an offshoot – adapted for the Arab world – of the French newspaper Petit quotidien, which was launched in 1998 and is aimed at children aged from 6 to 10. Every week, the newspaper gives its young readers pointers on how to follow, understand and analyse current events.

In order to adapt to the new consumption habits of pre-teens, the four permanent employees were supported in the digital transition of media for young people, by defining the editorial project in Arabic and French and launching a website.

Our objective is to enable pre-teens to understand the news in order to protect them from misinformation and hate speech.
Hala Bejjani and Lamia Rassi, founders of Kel Yom


Tourner et monter une vidéo avec un smartphone

Nouvelle formule de l’Orient-le-Jour

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Médias 360°

Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in […]

Citizen Connections

The growing need for citizen-led control of public initiatives and the explosion of online media present an unprecedented opportunity for young, committed African people who are innovating in this field. These agents of change still […]

Hiwar

In a climate of extreme political and economic volatility, Libyan media outlets are struggling to guarantee news pluralism in their country nowadays. Many journalists had to go into exile in order to retain their independence. […]

Menu
Rechercher

Orient numérique

De nouvelles stratégies pour les médias francophones libanais

Calendrier : Septembre 2016 - Août 2018 / Budget global : 440 K€


Face à l’essor des médias en ligne et aux évolutions des modes de consommation de l’information, s’ouvrir à l’ère numérique est devenu un enjeu vital pour la presse francophone libanaise. En 2017, CFI a accompagné le quotidien l’Orient-Le Jour et l’hebdomadaire pour la jeunesse Kel Yom dans leur adaptation au numérique.

Pour L’Orient-Le Jour, le plus ancien média francophone du Liban, les équipes ont travaillé sur plusieurs axes. En premier lieu, elles ont redéfini l’offre éditoriale papier pour redéployer des ressources humaines sur l’offre numérique. Puis elles ont amélioré l’accès aux contenus payants. Enfin, le journal a cherché à développer la relation avec les lecteurs abonnés et les futurs abonnés, notamment à travers une stratégie d’utilisation des réseaux sociaux.

Grâce à la mobilisation d’une cinquantaine de collaborateurs (dirigeants, journalistes, équipe du marketing et de la communication), dont 80% de femmes, des résultats significatifs sont apparus avant même les derniers mois de mise en œuvre du projet : stabilisation de la baisse du chiffre d’affaires, hausse de 3% des abonnements papier, augmentation de 16% des abonnements numériques, augmentation de 40% du trafic sur le site du Commerce du Levant (l’offre éditoriale économique du groupe de presse)… En outre, le quotidien a vu le nombre de ses abonnés sur les réseaux sociaux augmenter (+111% sur Facebook, +38% sur Twitter et +60% sur Instagram). De nouvelles applications favorisant l’accès à l’offre ont été lancées, ainsi que de nouveaux outils pour mieux connaître le lectorat, assurant un gain de productivité aux équipes marketing.

Notre priorité, c’est d’accroitre les ressources financières en assurant la transition numérique des revenus.
Michel Hélou, directeur exécutif du groupe de presse L’Orient Le Jour

Prévenir les discours de haine

L’hebdomadaire libanais Kel Yom a rejoint le projet Orient Numérique fin 2017, pour développer son site web en français et en arabe. Destiné aux enfants de 8 à 12 ans, Kel Yom est la déclinaison, adaptée pour le monde arabe, du Petit quotidien (lancé en France en 1998 pour les 6-10 ans). Chaque semaine, ce journal leur donne des clés pour suivre, comprendre et analyser l’actualité.

Pour s’adapter aux nouvelles habitudes de consommation des pré-adolescents, les quatre collaboratrices permanentes ont été accompagnées dans la transition numérique du jeune média, à travers la définition du projet éditorial en langue arabe et en français et le lancement d’un site en ligne.

Notre objectif, c’est de permettre aux pré-adolescents de comprendre l’actualité, afin de les prémunir de la désinformation et des discours de haine.
Hala Bejjani et Lamia Rassi, fondatrices de Kel Yom


Tourner et monter une vidéo avec un smartphone

Nouvelle formule de l’Orient-le-Jour

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Relèvement et stabilisation en RCA

En République centrafricaine (RCA), dans un contexte politique et sécuritaire toujours très instable, CFI place au cœur de son action le renforcement de la cohésion sociale et du « bien vivre ensemble », à travers le […]

Regard Jeunesse Niger

La jeunesse nigérienne, qui représente aujourd’hui plus de la moitié de la population, manque de perspectives d’avenir. La crise politique, sécuritaire et économique nuit à la stabilité et à la cohésion sociale du pays. Face […]

Connexions citoyennes

L’exigence croissante d’un contrôle citoyen de l’action publique et l’explosion des médias en ligne constituent une opportunité sans précédent pour les jeunes Africains engagés qui innovent dans ce domaine. Ces acteurs du changement manquent encore […]