FR

Pravo-Justice

Promoting understanding of judicial reforms in Ukraine through the media

In response to public distrust of the justice system, the Ukrainian government has been engaged in a major reform of the judiciary since 2015.

 

Timetable

December 2017 - December 2020

Total budget

€400,000

Democratic governance Social cohesion

Launched in late 2017 and funded by the European Union, the PRAVO-Justice project is part of a large-scale programme aimed at promoting justice sector reform in Ukraine. As part of this, CFI is implementing the media section of the project, which aims to improve public trust in the Ukrainian justice system and to increase public understanding of current reforms and of the judiciary, by training journalists on these issues.

2019 was marked by presidential and parliamentary elections, culminating in Volodymyr Zelensky taking presidential office. Within this context of intense media coverage, focussing in particular on achievements and election promises associated with the justice reform, 19 journalists with experience in covering judicial developments continued their specialisation with CFI.

They participated in two training cycles supplemented by activities run by professionals (magistrates, lawyers, civil servants) for whom interaction with the media is of fundamental importance. Between each face-to-face session, trainees received personalised support on reporting, investigative journalism or article-writing.

The modules were based on specific examples related to the practice of legal journalism in France, as well as on the experience of the trainers in international affairs. The cycles were designed and run by three French journalists who are members of the Association de la Presse Judiciaire [French Association of Court Journalists], supported by two Ukrainian journalists specialising in justice.

Discovering the intricacies of court reporting in France

Both the trainers and beneficiaries valued this specialisation cycle. The educational team wanted to present the way court reporting is carried out in France, which was something new for the Ukrainian court journalists. They enthusiastically welcomed this way of reporting as it highlights the way the justice system works and shows the dynamics of a society, from major cases down to local events.

Marina Ansiforova, who reports on court cases for Ukrainian television channel 24 and news website Bihus Info, admitted at the start of the training cycle that she “does not go to court”, but now hoped to follow trials in greater depth and with greater objectivity. According to Oleksiy Arunian, a journalist at Gratie, “the master class on court reporting was the most effective part. It was practical and hands-on and has provided us with useful knowledge.”  

A production support fund was set up to complement the theoretical part of the training course. By the end of 2019, 20 features (reports for television and radio, and online articles) had already been produced.


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

Pravo Justice

Faire comprendre, grâce aux médias, les réformes de la justice en Ukraine

Face à la défiance de la société civile vis-à-vis de la justice, le gouvernement ukrainien a entamé, depuis 2015, une profonde réforme du système judiciaire.

Calendrier

Décembre 2017 - décembre 2020

Budget global

400 K€

Cohésion sociale Gouvernance démocratique

Le projet PRAVO-Justice, lancé fin 2017 et financé par l’Union européenne, s’inscrit dans un vaste programme d’appui à la réforme du secteur judiciaire. Dans ce cadre, CFI met en œuvre le volet médias, qui vise à améliorer la confiance des Ukrainiens dans la justice de leur pays, leurs connaissances des réformes en cours et du système judiciaire, en format les journalistes à ces questions.

L’année 2019 a été marquée par des élections présidentielles et parlementaires et l’avènement du président Volodymyr Zélenski. Dans ce contexte d’intense couverture médiatique, visant particulièrement les réalisations et les promesses électorales liées à la réforme de la justice, 19 journalistes ayant une expérience dans le traitement de l’actualité judiciaire ont poursuivi leur spécialisation avec CFI.

Ils ont suivi deux cycles de formation agrémentés d’interventions de professionnels (magistrats, avocats, fonctionnaires), pour qui les interactions avec les médias sont fondamentales. Entre chaque séance en présentiel, les stagiaires ont bénéficié d’un accompagnement personnalisé pour la production de reportages, d’enquêtes ou d’articles.

Les modules s’appuyaient sur des exemples spécifiques liés à la pratique du journalisme judiciaire en France, mais également sur l’expérience des formateurs en matière d’affaires internationales. Ils ont été conçus et animés par trois journalistes français membres de l’Association de la Presse Judiciaire, épaulés par deux journalistes spécialistes de la justice en Ukraine.

Découvrir la chronique judiciaire « à la française »

Formateurs, formatrices et bénéficiaires ont apprécié ce cycle de spécialisation. L’équipe pédagogique a souhaité présenter la chronique judiciaire « à la française », une découverte pour les journalistes judiciaires ukrainiens. Ces derniers ont accueilli avec enthousiasme ce genre qui, des grandes affaires aux faits divers locaux, met en lumière le fonctionnement de la justice et les visages d’une société.

Marina Ansiforova qui couvre les affaires judiciaires pour la chaîne de télévision 24 et le site d’information Bihus Info, admettait en début de cycle « ne pas se rendre au tribunal » et comptait, par la suite, suivre les procès avec plus de profondeur et d’objectivité. Selon Olesksiy Arunian, journaliste à Gratie, « la master class sur la chronique judiciaire a été la plus efficace. Pratique et concrète, elle nous a apporté des connaissances que nous pouvons utiliser. »

Afin de compléter la partie théorique de cette formation, un fonds de soutien à la production a été mis en place. Fin 2019, vingt contenus (reportages pour la télévision et la radio, et articles en ligne) avaient déjà été produits.


Autres projets menés en 2019