Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

“Regard Jeunesse” project in Niger

Blogs and social networks: new forums for expression

Calendrier : September 2017 – December 2017 / Budget global : €85,000


Nigerien young people, which represents over half the population nowadays, suffer from a lack of future prospects. The political, security and economic crisis is harming the stability and social cohesion of the country. Faced with these challenges, social media provides young people with promising forums for information, expression and participation.

In 2017, the Regard Jeunesse project encouraged the initiatives of young Nigerien people who sought to make themselves heard and contribute towards the development of their country by enhancing their skills in online media. The project made it possible to compensate for the lack of information focusing on the daily problems encountered by young people. In addition to the training, it helped participants gain an understanding of the causes of radicalisation and identify potential solutions.

Another aim of enhancing the editorial and technical skills of Nigerian bloggers was to promote non-violent discourse and adapt the content to the priority issues of young citizens, particularly in the neighbouring Nigerian regions of Diffa and Zinder.

Young citizens should be given a greater voice and be involved in decision-making. They deserve a place in the development process to transform them from victims into agents of change.
Aïssata, student in Diffa

14 blogs created, 25 articles published

Thanks to the training sessions conducted from October to December 2017 as well as remote mentoring, 14 blogs have been created and over 25 articles have been published in French. The content developed by the bloggers reflected a greater awareness of the situation of Nigerien young people. They showed a better understanding of the role of the media in the promotion of peace. Throughout the project, round tables, meetings and input from experts enabled participants to increase the impact of their publications on blogs.

I discovered the usefulness of a blog for better communication. A blogger is a guiding light for his or her community and a blog is a formidable weapon with which to change this world.
Bachir, 30 years old, blogger in Zinder.

This pilot project constituted the third component of a larger project supported by the French Ambassador to Niger with funding from the Crisis and Support Centre (CDCS) of the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, entitled “Supporting the monitoring and production of radio content in the regions of Zinder and Diffa (with a view to preventing radicalisation)”.

Discover more projects carried out in 2017

Support for the Jordanian media

In 2016, UNESCO’s office in Jordan entrusted CFI with the implementation of a component of the Support to Media programme which is financed by the European Union. This project, oriented towards initial training within universities […]

Digital East

In view of the growth of online media and changes in the ways in which information is consumed, embracing the digital era has become a key challenge for Lebanon’s French-language press. In 2017, CFI supported […]

Qudra

In 2016, CFI was entrusted with the media component of the Qudra project – a programme led by Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which ensures the collection and dissemination of […]

Menu
Rechercher

Regard Jeunesse Niger

Blogs et réseaux sociaux : de nouveaux espaces d’expression

Calendrier : Septembre 2017 – Décembre 2017 / Budget global : 85 K€


La jeunesse nigérienne, qui représente aujourd’hui plus de la moitié de la population, manque de perspectives d’avenir. La crise politique, sécuritaire et économique nuit à la stabilité et à la cohésion sociale du pays. Face à ces défis, les médias sociaux offrent aux jeunes des espaces prometteurs d’information, d’expression et de participation..

En 2017, Regard Jeunesse a encouragé les initiatives de jeunes Nigériens qui cherchaient à se faire entendre et à contribuer au développement de leur pays, en renforçant leurs compétences dans les médias en ligne. Le projet a permis de pallier l’absence d’information consacrée aux problèmes quotidiens rencontrés par la jeunesse. Au delà de la formation, il a facilité la compréhension des causes de la radicalisation ainsi que l’identification de solutions possibles.

Le renforcement des compétences éditoriales et techniques des blogueurs nigériens visait aussi à promouvoir les discours non-violents et à adapter les contenus aux questions prioritaires des jeunes citoyens, en particulier dans les régions de Diffa et Zinder, limitrophes du Nigeria.

Les jeunes citoyens doivent bénéficier de plus d’écoute et être impliqués dans les instances de décision. Ils méritent une place dans le processus de développement de notre pays pour passer de victimes à acteurs de changement.
Aïssata, étudiante à Diffa

14 blogs développés, 25 articles publiés

Grâce aux sessions de formation menées d’octobre à décembre 2017, ainsi qu’à un accompagnement à distance, 14 blogs ont été développés et plus de 25 articles ont été publiés en langue française. Les contenus élaborés par les blogueurs ont reflété une plus grande conscience de la situation de la jeunesse nigérienne. Ils ont montré une meilleure compréhension du rôle des médias dans la promotion de la paix. Tout au long du projet, les tables rondes, rencontres et interventions d’experts ont permis aux participants de multiplier l’impact de leurs publications sur les blogs.

J’ai découvert l’utilité d’un blog pour une meilleure communication. Un blogueur est un éclaireur pour sa communauté et un blog, une arme redoutable pour changer ce monde.
Bachir, 30 ans, blogueur à Zinder.

Ce projet pilote a constitué le troisième volet d’un projet plus large soutenu par l’ambassade de France au Niger sur financement du Centre de crise et de soutien du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, intitulé « Appui au monitoring et à la production de contenus radiophoniques dans les régions de Zinder et Diffa (dans une perspective de prévention de la radicalisation) ».

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2017

Appui aux médias jordaniens

En 2016, le bureau de l’UNESCO en Jordanie a confié à CFI la mise en œuvre d’un volet du programme d’aide aux médias financé par l’Union Européenne. Ce projet, orienté vers la formation initiale au […]

Orient numérique

Face à l’essor des médias en ligne et aux évolutions des modes de consommation de l’information, s’ouvrir à l’ère numérique est devenu un enjeu vital pour la presse francophone libanaise. En 2017, CFI a accompagné […]

Qudra

En 2016, CFI s’est vu confier le volet média du projet Qudra – programme mené par Expertise France et majoritairement financé par l’Union Européenne – qui assure la collecte et la diffusion des informations utiles […]