Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

Best Female Talents

Training young female French-speaking African writers in how to write television series

Calendrier : May 2018 – December 2018 / Budget global : €15,000


In 2018, CFI renewed its support for African fiction, in particular by supporting the continent’s best female talents in the field of writing a television series, by means of the Talents de femmes (Best Female Talents) project.

The aim of this project, run in partnership with the Keewu production company, was to encourage French-speaking African women under the age of 45 to master scriptwriting techniques for television fiction series. Three female authors from Ivory Coast, Senegal and Benin were selected, from among 250 applications, and given the opportunity to receive training and then participate in the writing of a TV series.

After workshops organised to write eight episodes of the series, remote mentoring of the three writers was provided by the scriptwriting expert. A final writing workshop allowed refinement of the episodes of the series, in order to improve the work on dialogue.

The series “Miss Jella, l’envoûtée” (Miss Jella, the bewitched) tells the story of a young “repat” who has left life in Paris behind and returned to the country, and will be filmed during the first half of 2019.

“These workshops enabled me to learn the essential foundations of scriptwriting for a television series. They also made me aware of the importance of group work in this type of project: the synergy in developing the series, compliance with international standards in terms of writing and discussions with the other female writers have been the real highlights of these workshops for me.” 
Calmine Agbofoun (Benin) 

“These writing workshops are very useful as they allow you to completely immerse yourself in the project by discussing everyone’s ideas at the same time, so as to work more quickly and more efficiently. I’ve also gained new knowledge, such as how to structure the writing of an episode, to aid the coherence of the series and its effectiveness.”
Anna Koné (Ivory Coast)

 

From left to right: Anne Bakoro Kone (Ivory Coast), Calmine Agbofoun (Benin) and Anna Gomis (Senegal), the three scriptwriters on the Best Female Talents project

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

EcoMedias

Since the protests in Burkina Faso in 2014, the citizens aspire to greater transparency from their leaders. However, the forms of action for participating in public life are still obscure and the media, in turn, […]

Qudra

For almost three years, CFI has been managing the media component of the European Qudra programme – led by the GIZ, in partnership with Expertise France and mainly financed by the European Union – which […]

Faso Medias 2

In the wake of historic local and national elections, there are very high expectations of the new regime in Burkinan society. While certain policy directions remain to be defined for media organisations and civil society, […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

Talents de femmes

Former de jeunes auteures d’Afrique francophone à l’écriture de séries télévisées

Calendrier : mai 2018 – décembre 2018 / Budget global : 15 K€


En 2018, CFI a poursuivi son appui à la fiction africaine, notamment en accompagnant des talents féminins du continent dans le domaine de l’écriture d’une série télévisée, à travers le projet Talents de femmes.

L’objectif de ce projet, mené en partenariat avec la maison de production Keewu, était d’encourager des femmes de moins de 45 ans, africaines et francophones, dans la maîtrise des techniques d’écriture de scénarios de séries de fiction pour la télévision. Trois auteures de Côte d’Ivoire, du Sénégal et du Bénin, ont été sélectionnées, parmi 250 candidatures, pour être formées et participer à l’écriture d’un programme de série télévisée.

Après des ateliers pour l’écriture des huit épisodes de la série, un suivi à distance a été réalisé par l’experte scénariste avec les trois auteures. Un atelier d’écriture final a permis le lissage des épisodes, afin d’affiner le travail sur les dialogues.

La série « Miss Jella, l’envoûtée », qui raconte le retour au pays d’une jeune « repat » ayant quitté la vie parisienne, sera tournée durant le premier semestre 2019.

Ces ateliers m’ont permis d’acquérir les bases de l’écriture scénaristique dans le domaine de la série télévisée. Ils m’ont aussi fait prendre conscience que le travail en groupe avait tout son sens dans ce type de projet : la synergie dans le développement de la série, le respect des normes internationales dans le domaine de l’écriture et les échanges avec les auteures ont été, en ce qui me concerne, les véritables points forts de ces ateliers. »
Calmine Agbofoun (Bénin

Ces ateliers d’écriture sont très intéressants car ils permettent de s’immerger complètement dans le projet en confrontant les idées de chacun pour travailler plus rapidement et plus efficacement. J’ai aussi acquis de nouvelles connaissances, notamment dans la structuration de l’écriture d’un épisode, pour facilier la cohérence de la série et son efficacité ».
Anna Koné (Côte d’Ivoire)

De gauche à droite : Anne Bakoro Koné (Côte d’Ivoire), Calmine Agbofoun (Bénin) et Anna Gomis (Sénégal), les trois scénaristes de Talents de femmes

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

EU-JDID

La Jordanie a mené, dans le sillage des Printemps arabes, une série de réformes constitutionnelles et politiques visant à construire une « démocratie dynamique ». Dans la lignée de sa stratégie pour la promotion de l’État de […]

D-JIL

Créer des programmes numériques innovants et originaux, reflétant les enjeux auxquels les jeunes s’intéressent, constitue aujourd’hui une priorité pour les médias du monde arabe. De nombreuses études sur la jeunesse dans cette région montrent également […]

Faso Médias 2

Au lendemain d’élections locales et nationales historiques, les attentes de la société burkinabè à l’égard du nouveau régime sont immenses. Si certaines modalités d’action restent à définir pour les médias et la société civile, une […]