Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

Tasalah

Media and reconciliation in Iraq

Calendrier : October 2017 – December 2019 / Budget global : €438,000


In Iraq, supporting and strengthening dialogue between the various stakeholders in the reconciliation process is vital. The media play a major role in this respect, as they can constitute either a tool to help achieve social cohesion, or the very opposite.

The Tasalah – which means reconciliation in Arabic – project has been conducted in partnership with the German NGO MiCT, which has an in-depth knowledge of Iraq and to whom CFI entrusted the implementation of the on-the-ground actions. The support focuses on two axes: governance and social cohesion.

Strengthening the role of journalism

The first axis was aimed at strengthening the role of journalism as a key element of governance in relation to coverage of political news during an electoral period, and this was done by means of three actions: training of trainers in Beirut, workshops for Iraqi journalists in Baghdad and Kurdistan, and lastly monitoring the coverage of elections in political talk shows on eight local and national Iraqi television channels. 

These activities took place before the legislative poll of 12 May 2018 and enabled 27 trainers to be trained, seven of whom then led workshops with 141 journalists coming from across the entire territory of Iraq.

Supporting the media in their role in promoting social cohesion

Specifically funded by the Crisis and Support Centre of the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, the “social cohesion” axis is structured around three workshops in Mosul, mixing speakers from media organisations and from civil society, as well as a wrap-up conference in Erbil, in the presence of international players and ten national and local media organisations, to reflect on the role of the media in the country’s stabilisation process. These “Mosul talks” led to a final publication in English, French and Arabic.

In addition, six workshops relating to digital tools and skills (fact checking and fake news/cyber-security) in Baghdad, Basra and Souleimanieh brought together 96 journalists from across Iraq. One journalist from the capital told the local coordinator: “Before this workshop I used to think that cyber-security just meant the software on my phone and my computer, but in reality it depends on my day-to-day routine and the way in which I manage my personal data”.

Finally, three workshops supporting the production of media content relating to social cohesion brought together, in Kurdistan, 40 journalists and citizen journalists from throughout the national territory. All of the 35 items of content produced were published in local or national media (TV, online press and radio) and/or on social networks, where some videos were viewed tens of thousands of times. The top four productions were honoured at an award ceremony in Erbil in December, in the presence of representatives of the French Embassy in Iraq.


Report on the “Mosul Talks”

Report by Rabee Altay (Mosul) – 1st prize in Tasalah awards, December 2018

Photo gallery

  • Tasalah

    Tasalah awards ceremony in Erbil – December 2018

  • Tasalah

    Wrap-up conference in Erbil – April 2018

  • Tasalah

    Workshops in Mosul – March 2018

  • Tasalah

    Training course for trainers in Beirut – Early 2018

  • Tasalah

    Wrap-up conference in Erbil – April 2018

  • Tasalah

    Wrap-up conference in Erbil – April 2018

  • Tasalah
  • Tasalah
  • Tasalah

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

Best Female Talents

In 2018, CFI renewed its support for African fiction, in particular by supporting the continent’s best female talents in the field of writing a television series, by means of the Talents de femmes (Best Female […]

Digital East

The use of online media is growing rapidly in Lebanon and it is essential for the written press to develop their digital output in order to maintain the link with their readership. Between 2016 and […]

4M Asia

After four years providing support to online media outlets in seven countries in South-East Asia, the 4M Asia project came to an end in April 2018. The closing forum, which took place in Jakarta (Indonesia), […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

Tasalah

Médias et réconciliation en Irak

Calendrier : octobre 2017 – décembre 2019 / Budget global : 438 k€


En Irak, soutenir et renforcer le dialogue entre les différents acteurs de la réconciliation est primordial. Au sein de ce processus, les médias jouent un rôle majeur, car ils peuvent être soit un instrument au service de la cohésion sociale, soit son contraire.

Le projet Tasalah – qui signifie réconciliation en arabe –  a été mené en partenariat avec l’ONG allemande MiCT, qui possède une connaissance approfondie de l’Irak et à qui CFI a confié la mise en œuvre des actions sur le terrain. L’appui s’est concentré sur deux axes : la gouvernance et la cohésion sociale.

Renforcer le rôle du journalisme

Le premier axe visait à renforcer le rôle du journalisme comme élément clé de la gouvernance en matière de couverture de l’actualité politique en période électorale, et ce, à travers trois actions : des formations de formateurs à Beyrouth, des ateliers à destination de journalistes irakiens à Bagdad et au Kurdistan, et enfin un monitoring de la couverture des élections dans les talk shows politiques de huit chaînes de télévision irakiennes, locales et nationales. 

Ces activités se sont déroulées avant le scrutin législatif du 12 mai 2018 et ont permis de former 27 formateurs, dont sept ont ensuite animé des ateliers auprès de 141 journalistes provenant de l’ensemble du territoire irakien.

Soutenir les médias dans leur rôle de promotion de la cohésion sociale

Spécifiquement financé par le Centre de Crise et de Soutien du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, l’axe « cohésion sociale » s’est structuré autour de  trois  ateliers à Mossoul, mêlant intervenants des médias et de la société civile, ainsi qu’une conférence de restitution à Erbil, en présence d’opérateurs internationaux et d’une dizaine de médias nationaux et locaux, pour réfléchir au rôle des médias dans le processus de stabilisation du pays. Ces Mosul Talks ont donné lieu à une publication finale en anglais, français et arabe.

En outre, six ateliers sur les outils et compétences numériques (fact checking et infox/cyber sécurité) à Bagdad, Bassorah et Souleimanieh, ont réuni 96 journalistes de toute l’Irak. Une journaliste de la capitale a rapporté au coordinateur local : « Avant cet atelier je pensais que la cyber-sécurité se résumait uniquement aux logiciels sur mon téléphone et mon ordinateur, mais en réalité cela dépend de mon attitude quotidienne et de la façon dont je gère mes données personnelles. »

Pour finir, trois ateliers d’accompagnement à la production de contenus médiatiques relatifs à la cohésion sociale ont rassemblé, au Kurdistan, 40 journalistes et journalistes-citoyens originaires de tout le territoire national. Sur les 35 contenus produits, tous ont été publiés dans des médias locaux ou nationaux (TV, presse en ligne et radio) et/ou sur les réseaux sociaux, où certaines vidéos ont rassemblé des dizaines de milliers de vues. Les quatre meilleures productions ont été récompensées lors d’une cérémonie de remise de prix en décembre à Erbil, en présence des représentants de l’Ambassade de France en Irak.


Reportage sur les « Mossoul Talks »

Reportage de Rabee Altay (Mossoul) – 1er Prix Tasalah en décembre 2018

Galerie photos

  • Tasalah

    Cérémonie de remise du Prix Tasalah à Erbil – Décembre 2018

  • Tasalah

    Conférence de restitution à Erbil – Avril 2018

  • Tasalah

    Ateliers à Mossoul – Mars 2018

  • Tasalah

    Formation de formateurs à Beyrouth – Début 2018

  • Tasalah

    Conférence de restitution à Erbil (Irak) - Mars et avril 2018

  • Tasalah

    Conférence de restitution à Erbil (Irak) - Mars et avril 2018

  • Tasalah
  • Tasalah
  • Tasalah

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

Faso Médias 2

Au lendemain d’élections locales et nationales historiques, les attentes de la société burkinabè à l’égard du nouveau régime sont immenses. Si certaines modalités d’action restent à définir pour les médias et la société civile, une […]

EcoMédias

Depuis les manifestations de 2014 au Burkina Faso, les citoyens aspirent à une plus grande transparence de leurs dirigeants. Cependant les modalités d’action pour participer à la vie publique sont encore méconnues et les médias, […]

PAGOF

La participation au PGO (Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert) des pays d’Afrique francophone est encore limitée, mais le processus suscite de plus en plus d’intérêt. Dans ces pays, les médias traditionnels comme les médias en […]