Menu

Annual Report 2018

Search

YMER

Yemeni Media Emergency Response

Developing humanitarian information in Yemen

Calendrier : October 2018 – September 2019 / Budget global : €130,000


Yemen is now facing a serious humanitarian crisis: two thirds of the population are in need of aid, half of whom are in a state of extreme emergency. In response to this situation, CFI has undertaken to work alongside Yemeni journalists in order to facilitate the flow of humanitarian information.

Ten Yemeni journalists were selected in November 2018 to participate in the YMER (Yemeni Media Emergency Response) project. They were trained in Jordan in how to lead sessions focused on the gathering and production of humanitarian information in Yemen. At the end of this first workshop, six journalist-trainers were in turn able to lead workshops in Sana’a, Aden, Taïz and Hajjah.

40 Yemeni journalists trained

With several hundred applications received, these first training courses, organised at the premises of the project’s Yemeni NGO partners, have sparked genuine interest. They each brought together ten participants, a total of forty journalists.

YMER has participated in the establishment of a solid network of a hundred journalists trained in the journalistic handling of humanitarian information and capable of producing reliable and up-to-date content in relation to the humanitarian situation in the country.

“The training has provided us with in-depth knowledge and practical tools for reporting and broadcasting humanitarian narratives”. Badi Sultan, a Yemeni journalist who attended a training session in Aden

Covering the peace talks in Stockholm

Furthermore, among the Yemeni journalists trained by CFI, twelve of them travelled to Stockholm (Sweden) in December 2018 to cover the peace talks under the aegis of the UN, in the same capacity as their colleagues from the international press. They produced articles, reports and interviews for their media organisations in Yemen, which were also disseminated on social networks, in particular on the dedicated Facebookpage Yemen Peace Talks Newsroom.

Photo gallery

  • YMER

    Training course for Yemeni journalists – November 2018

  • YMER

    Training course for Yemeni journalists – November 2018

  • YMER

    The 12 Yemeni journalists’ newsroom in Stockholm (Sweden) - December 2018

  • YMER

    Interview with Hervé Verhoosel, spokesman for the World Food Programme, to announce the increase in aid to Yemen.

  • YMER

    Representatives from both camps in the YMER newsroom, the Houthi insurgency and the Yemeni government, were in Sweden for peace negotiations. Despite a symbolic image, the outcome of the conflict remains uncertain.

  • YMER

    Independent Yemeni journalists, having covered the peace talks in Stockholm in December 2018.

  • YMER
  • YMER
  • YMER
  • YMER

    A meeting with the Swedish Minister for Foreign Affairs and the presentation of the YMER project.

  • YMER

    A meeting with the Swedish Minister for Foreign Affairs and the presentation of the YMER project.

  • YMER

    Mr. Christian Testot, the French ambassador to Yemen, is interviewed by journalists in the YMER newsroom.

  • YMER

    Interview with one of the YMER participants by a journalist from the Chinese media organisation CCTV.

  • YMER

    12 independent Yemeni journalists covered the peace talks in Stockholm in December 2018

  • YMER

    Interview with one of the YMER participants by a journalist from Wall Street Journal

Discover more projects carried out in 2018

Tasalah

In Iraq, supporting and strengthening dialogue between the various stakeholders in the reconciliation process is vital. The media play a major role in this respect, as they can constitute either a tool to help achieve […]

Media 360°

Nowadays, traditional African media outlets are faced with the migration of their audiences, particularly younger people, to the internet and social networks. Faced with this reality, they have to diversify their digital strategies quickly in […]

D-JIL

The creation of innovative and original digital programmes, reflecting the issues that young people are interested in, is a top priority these days for media outlets in the Arab world. Numerous studies in this region […]

Menu

Rapport d'activité 2018

Rechercher

YMER

Yemeni Media Emergency Response

Développer l’information humanitaire au Yémen

Calendrier : octobre 2018 – septembre 2019 / Budget global : 130K€


Le Yémen est aujourd’hui confronté à une grave crise humanitaire : les deux tiers de la population ont besoin d’aide, dont la moitié se trouve dans une urgence absolue. Face à cette situation, CFI s’est engagé aux côtés des journalistes yéménites pour favoriser la circulation de l’information humanitaire.

Une dizaine de journalistes yéménites ont été sélectionnés en novembre 2018 pour participer au projet YMER (Yemeni Media Emergency Response). Ils ont été formés en Jordanie à l’animation de sessions axées sur la collecte et la production d’informations humanitaires au Yémen. A l’issue de ce premier atelier, six journalistes-formateurs ont pu animer à leur tour des ateliers à Sanaa, Aden, Taïz et Hajjah.

40 journalistes yéménites formés

Avec plusieurs centaines de candidatures reçues, ces premières formations, organisées dans les locaux des ONG yéménites partenaires du projet, ont suscité un réel intérêt. Elles ont réuni une dizaine de participants chacune, soit au total une quarantaine de journalistes.

YMER a participé à la constitution d’un réseau solide d’une centaine de journalistes formés au traitement journalistique de l’information humanitaire et capables de produire des contenus fiables et actualisés sur la situation humanitaire du pays.

La formation nous a dotés de connaissances approfondies et d’outils pratiques pour la rédaction et la diffusion de récits humanitaires ».
Badi Sultan, journaliste yéménite bénéficiaire d’une formation à Aden

Couvrir les pourparlers de paix à Stockholm

En outre, parmi les journalistes yéménites formés par CFI, douze d’entre eux se sont rendus à Stockholm (Suède), en décembre 2018, pour couvrir les pourparlers de paix sous l’égide de l’ONU, au même titre que leurs confères de la presse internationale. Ils ont produit des articles, reportages et interviews pour leurs médias du Yémen, également diffusés sur les réseaux sociaux, notamment sur la page Facebook dédiée Yemen Peace Talks Newsroom.

Galerie photos

  • YMER

    Formation des journalistes yéménites – novembre 2018

  • YMER

    Formation des journalistes yéménites – novembre 2018

  • YMER

    La newsroom des 12 journalistes yéménites à Stockholm (Suède) - Décembre 2018

  • YMER

    Interview de Hervé Verhoosel, porte parole du Programme Alimentaire Mondial pour annoncer l'augmentation de l'aide pour le Yémen à Stockholm (Suède) - Décembre 2018

  • YMER

    Les représentants des deux camps dans la newsroom YMER, la rébellion houthiste et le gouvernement yéménite, sont en Suède pour négocier la paix. Malgré une image symbolique, l'issue du conflit demeure incertaine.

  • YMER

    Journalistes yéménites indépendants ayant couvert les pourparlers de paix à Stockholm en décembre 2018.

  • YMER
  • YMER
  • YMER
  • YMER

    Rencontre avec la ministre suédoise des Affaires étrangères et présentation du projet YMER.

  • YMER

    Rencontre avec la ministre suédoise des Affaires étrangères et présentation du projet YMER.

  • YMER

    Dans la newsroom YMER, les journalistes interviewent M. Christian Testot, l'ambassadeur de France pour le Yemen,

  • YMER

    Interview d'une des participantes de YMER par une journaliste du média chinois CCTV.

  • YMER

    La newsroom dédiés aux journalistes yéménites de YMER lors des pourparlers de paix à Stockholm.

  • YMER

    Interview d'une des participantes de YMER par un journaliste du Wall Street Journal.

Découvrez d’autres projets menés en 2018

Lectures Numériques

Au Liban, la presse francophone, même si elle connaît d’importantes difficultés économiques, est appréciée par de nombreux Libanais qui gardent un attachement envers la France et la langue française. Ce contexte est favorable au développement […]

EcoMédias

Depuis les manifestations de 2014 au Burkina Faso, les citoyens aspirent à une plus grande transparence de leurs dirigeants. Cependant les modalités d’action pour participer à la vie publique sont encore méconnues et les médias, […]

D-JIL

Créer des programmes numériques innovants et originaux, reflétant les enjeux auxquels les jeunes s’intéressent, constitue aujourd’hui une priorité pour les médias du monde arabe. De nombreuses études sur la jeunesse dans cette région montrent également […]