FR

YMER+

Providing better information to the population about the humanitarian situation in Yemen

Developing a neutral media landscape in Yemen and using media to meet the needs of the population rather than as propaganda tools is necessary to contain the current humanitarian crisis.

Timetable

May 2019 – October 2020

Total budget

€600,000

Digital Gender equality Social cohesion

The YMER+ (Yemeni Media Emergency Response) project, funded by the European Union, promotes the development of humanitarian journalism in the country in order to optimise NGO action in the field and the dissemination of useful information among the population, in particular in terms of accessing emergency accommodation, food, water or even healthcare.

Through initiatives aimed at creating a network on the ground, providing training to journalists on the journalistic handling of humanitarian information and supporting production, the YMER+ project strengthens the role of Yemeni journalism as a key component in the communication between NGOs and their beneficiaries. In this way, the project increases the effectiveness of international aid to ensure it has a more concrete impact.

Developing a code of conduct

In September 2019, 10 Yemeni journalists benefited from a training session for trainers in Amman to familiarise themselves with various tools currently available. They are now in a position to provide training on humanitarian journalism and to evaluate the content produced by the people they supervise.

More than 30 Yemeni journalists and representatives of humanitarian organisations based in Yemen met in Amman in November 2019 to explore the ways and means of improving humanitarian media coverage in the country. The discussions addressed the different opinions of the chief editors and journalists from the various regions of Yemen. This seminar resulted in the creation of a code of conduct, which was adopted and signed by everyone. The journalists also participated in the ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism) Annual Forum, the largest gathering of investigative reporters in the Arab world.

 “This seminar allowed us to meet the urgent need to discuss ways of using local media for the benefit of the humanitarian situation in Yemen, in a crisis context.” Ali Al Faqeeh, Chief Editor of the site Al Masdar


More projects carried out in 2019

EN

YMER+

Mieux informer la population sur la situation humanitaire au Yémen

Développer un paysage médiatique neutre au Yémen, avec des médias utilisés pour répondre aux besoins de la population plutôt que comme outils de propagande, s’avère nécessaire pour contenir la crise humanitaire actuelle.

Calendrier

Mai 2019 – octobre 2020

Budget global

600 K€

Cohésion sociale Egalité homme femmes Numérique

Le projet YMER+ (Yemeni Media Emergency Response), financé par l’Union européenne, favorise le développement du journalisme humanitaire dans le pays, afin d’optimiser l’action des ONG sur le terrain et la diffusion d’une information utile auprès des populations, notamment en matière d’accès à un hébergement d’urgence, à la nourriture, à l’eau ou encore aux soins.

À travers des actions de mise en réseau sur le terrain, de formations de journalistes au traitement de l’information humanitaire et de soutien à la production, le projet YMER+ renforce le positionnement du journalisme yéménite en tant que rouage essentiel de la communication entre les ONG et leurs bénéficiaires. Il soutient ainsi l’efficacité de l’aide internationale, pour un impact plus concret.

Elaboration d’un code de conduite

En septembre 2019, dix journalistes yéménites ont bénéficié d’une formation de formateurs à Amman, pour se familiariser avec les différents outils existants. Ils sont désormais en mesure de former au journalisme humanitaire et d’évaluer les contenus produits par les personnes qu’ils encadrent.

Plus de trente journalistes yéménites et représentants d’organisations humanitaires basées au Yémen se sont réunis à Amman, en novembre 2019, pour envisager des moyens et pistes d’amélioration de la couverture médiatique humanitaire dans le pays. Les discussions ont confronté les différentes opinions des rédacteurs en chef et des journalistes venus de régions différentes du Yémen. Ce séminaire s’est concrétisé par l’élaboration d’un code de conduite, adopté et signé par toutes et tous. Les journalistes ont également assisté au forum annuel pour le journalisme d’investigation de l’ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism), le plus grand rassemblement de reporters d’investigation du monde arabe.

Ce séminaire a permis de répondre au besoin urgent de discuter des moyens d’utiliser les médias locaux au profit de la situation humanitaire au Yémen, dans un contexte de crise ». Ali Al Faqeeh, rédacteur en chef du site Al Masdar


Autres projets menés en 2019