Menu

Annual Report 2017

Search

2017, a year of transformation

In 2017, the President of the Republic solemnly reaffirmed the importance of official development assistance (ODA) and assigned new objectives to it. Five priority areas were identified: international stability, climate, education, gender equality and health. Audiovisual cooperation, focused on providing support to news players in the South, is a powerful lever for serving these thematic priorities. It justifies the existence and place of a specialised French media development agency, such as CFI, in supporting development processes or strengthening local media in areas in the process of stabilisation. It is in this context of stepping up efforts in French official development assistance that CFI experienced and underwent several major transformations, which were implemented throughout the year.

Strengthening ties between CFI and France Médias Monde

On 27 June 2017, CFI became a wholly owned subsidiary of the France Médias Monde group. This positioning which was sought by the State is strategic. The aim is to create a robust hub of expertise, within the external audiovisual sector, in the field of media development. It gives CFI a solid backing and favourable ecosystem and bolsters the action of France’s external audiovisual sector with a lever for strengthening potential partnerships with media players in the South. The strengthened ties between CFI and FMM have already created synergies in terms of structure, resources and initiatives, mutually benefiting them and increasing the effectiveness and impact of their development aid initiatives.

Adoption of CFI’s Contract of Objectives with the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs

The Contract of Objectives for the 2018/2020 period was negotiated with the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs in 2017. It affirms the identity and place of CFI as a leading operator in the field of media development aid and focuses CFI’s initiatives on priorities relating to young people, digital technology and gender equality. It aims to optimise the benefits of the strengthened ties with the France Médias Monde group in terms of streamlining activities.

Speeding up CFI’s intervention processes to the benefit of local beneficiaries

CFI has transformed its action on the basis of three themes:

  • Diversification of funding has continued, particularly by way of successful calls for tender among international donor agencies.
  • In 2017, project development intensified and 177 actions were organised on the ground. Productivity, measured as the share of resources allocated to projects actually completed, reached an unprecedented level despite the relocation of the company.
  • CFI confirmed its traditional orientations, without ruling out the possibility of exploring new territories (in Central Europe, for example), by concentrating most of its projects in sub-Saharan Africa and the Arab world (the Maghreb, Eastern Mediterranean). This specialisation allows CFI to capitalise on experience, networks and know-how, thus contributing to its reputation and recognition in France and abroad.

Menu
Rechercher

2017, une année sous le signe des transformations

En 2017, le Président de la République a solennellement réaffirmé l’importance de l’aide publique au développement (APD) et lui a assigné de nouveaux objectifs. Cinq grands domaines prioritaires ont été identifiés : la stabilité internationale, le climat, l’éducation, l’égalité femmes-hommes et la santé. La coopération audiovisuelle, consacrée à l’accompagnement des acteurs de l’information du Sud, est un puissant levier au service de ces priorités thématiques. Elle justifie l’existence et la place d’une agence française de développement médias spécialisée, telle que CFI, pour soutenir les processus de développement ou renforcer les médias locaux dans les zones en stabilisation. C’est dans ce contexte d’accroissement de l’effort d’aide publique au développement de la France que CFI a connu et engagé plusieurs transformations majeures, menées tout au long l’année.

Le rapprochement de CFI avec France Médias Monde 

Depuis le 27 juin 2017, CFI est devenu une filiale entièrement détenue par le groupe France Médias Monde. Ce positionnement voulu par l’Etat est stratégique. Il vise à constituer un pôle d’expertise robuste, au sein de l’audiovisuel extérieur, dans le domaine du développement médias. Il procure à CFI un adossement solide et un écosystème favorable. Il dote l’action audiovisuelle extérieure de la France d’un levier de renforcement des partenariats potentiels avec des acteurs médias au Sud. Le rapprochement entre CFI et FMM permet d’ores et déjà des synergies de structures, de moyens et d’actions, pour un bénéfice commun et l’amélioration de l’efficacité et l’impact des actions d’aide au développement.

L’adoption du contrat d’Objectifs de CFI avec le ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères

Le contrat d’Objectifs, pour la période 2018/2020, a été négocié en 2017 avec le Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères. Il affirme l’identité et la place de CFI en tant qu’opérateur de référence dans le domaine de l’aide au développement média, et concentre les interventions de CFI autour des priorités liées à la jeunesse, au numérique, à l’égalité hommes femmes. Il prévoit d’optimiser les bénéfices du rapprochement avec le groupe France Médias Monde, dans une perspective de démultiplication d’activités. Le contrat d’Objectifs invite enfin CFI à optimiser ses ressources, pour être à même de mieux coordonner les opérateurs français du secteur et de renforcer son ancrage international.

L’accélération des processus d’intervention de CFI pour les bénéficiaires locaux

CFI a transformé son action suivant trois axes :

  • La diversification des financements a continué, notamment par des appels d’offres fructueux auprès des bailleurs de fonds internationaux.
  • En 2017, l’ingénierie de projet s’est intensifiée et 177 missions ont été organisées sur le terrain. La productivité, mesurée par la part de ressources affectées sur projets, a atteint un niveau inédit, en dépit du déménagement de l’entreprise.
  • CFI a confirmé ses tropismes traditionnels, sans exclure d’explorer de nouveaux territoires (en Europe centrale par exemple) en concentrant l’essentiel des projets en Afrique subsaharienne et dans le monde arabe (Maghreb, Levant). Cette spécialisation permet de capitaliser expériences, réseaux et savoir-faire, contribuant ainsi à la notoriété et à la reconnaissance de CFI en France et à l’étranger.